Worms and Flowers

Happy Halloween

Posted in Holidays, Inside by Lzyjo on October 29, 2009

Happy Halloween!

Photobucket

I wandered over to the Martha Stewart website for some pumpkin carving inspiration. There are things I really love about Martha Stewart, some of her recipes are absolutely top shelf. My ultimate favorite is her Chocolate chip cookie breakdown, three different recipes for the cookies texture you want. When ever I make chocolate chip cookies the soft and chewy version is the one I refer back to time and time again. OMG. I used to get up at 5 Am to bake these cookies for my softball team. MMMM!! I also made my friend a cookie cake using this recipe, just poured it into a pie plate. OMG OMG!! It was SO good!

Photobucket

Martha Stewart’s Halloween projects are always phenomenal.  I got my first Martha Stewart Living subscription was I was 15.  (Yes, I am a dork) Another great Halloween project of her’s, that I did, was a Halloween window monster, (sort of resembling a dragon). The dragon was cut out of black plastic landscape sheeting and taped on to the window and then the body was filled in the green kraft paper, it was awesome on a picture window!

Anyway, there are so many great ideas for Halloween decorating. I loved Martha’s carrot nose pumpkins, and i used the only carrot from the garden for the nose! LOL! One thing, the pumpkin and the carrot do desiccate, so it’s best to only make it a a few days ahead. Or you can do like me and replace the carrot with a pepper when the hole is too big.

I used Martha’s transfer method from the magazine. Draw your face on paper, tape it to the pumpkin and transfer the design with a pin.

Have a Happy Halloween!

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tina said, on October 29, 2009 at 8:44 AM

    This is something we must do this week! Since Saturday is Halloween and my husband works so much we are behind. He usually prints a design from the web then carves the pumpkin up. I like Martha Stewart and wish I had a subscription to her gardening articles. Not so into the cooking thing. The only thing with Martha and gardening that I don’t like is who can honestly say they use a tractor to plant 20000 daffodil bulbs per year? Not your ordinary gardening-you and I. She does it every year. I’d love to see that display.

    I agree, Tina. Martha is like a corporation with a ton of minions pulling off incredible displays, I can only imagine the budget for one photo shoot! She really goes all out and you’re right there’s no way to replicate most of those things. I wish I had waited a little to carve mine. Damn bugs. Thanks for stopping by, Tina!

  2. ourfriendben said, on October 29, 2009 at 9:26 AM

    Your pumpkin is phenomenal, Lzyjo! Wow!!! Love the pepper “horns”! And of course, white pumpkins are always special. Wishing you all the best Hallowe’en ever!!!

    Aww, thanks so much for the compliment! I like how the mouth came out. Spent a whole afternoon carving it. Wishing you a magical Halloween too!

  3. Gail said, on October 29, 2009 at 6:19 PM

    martha has talent and surrounds herself with even more talented folks! Lzyjo, I must confess…we haven’t a pumpkin out at all! I must remedy that tomorrow! May I borrow your ideas?….I love those horns on the white pumpkin. gail

    You’re right, Gail. Mines of creative talent. It might be a good thing, that you don’t have a pumpkin. Did you know rotting fruit attract bugs?! LOL! Gack. Borrow away, I borrowed all of mine. 😉 Thanks for stopping by, Gail. Have a great Halloween!

  4. Jen said, on October 29, 2009 at 6:38 PM

    This is fantastic, Lzyjo. My husband is an artist and does terrific pumpkin carving, but I’m thinking this year I’m going to impose and ask him to implement some of these Martha ideas that you’re showcasing here. I’d like to use my green snake gourds as antennae. Have you ever seen that book “Play With Your Food”? Great ideas for making creatures out of fruits and veggies.
    Have a great Halloween!!

    BTW, I think it was on your blog last year that I found the link to Stolloween – I had to visit again this year – incredible stuff. Are you displaying those amazing bugs you made?

    Ah, the bugs, yes, they are mouldering away in the garden. As it should be! You’re right Stolloween is an amazing site! I’m am completely envious of pumpkin carvers! That stuff is amazing. I hope you’ll be posting yours? I love that book play with your food! Happy Halloween to you too!

  5. artistsgarden said, on November 1, 2009 at 2:26 PM

    This is great – every year I wish I had done a pumpkin – then every year I dont – so I am enjoying yours
    🙂
    K

    Aww, thank you so much, Karen! That’s too kind. You’re more than welcome to enjoy mine this year, but you should do one next year. I know it will be fantastic!!

  6. Barbee' said, on November 8, 2009 at 5:56 PM

    That’s one of the cutest Jack-o-lanterns I have ever seen! Love the peppers!

    Thank you so much, Barbee, and thanks for stopping by.

  7. Gail said, on November 9, 2009 at 7:54 AM

    Hey Lzyjo, Hey there! How are you? gail

    HI! Gail! I’m alive! Thanks for checking in on me! I’ll try to post something soon!

  8. fairegarden said, on November 11, 2009 at 5:11 PM

    Well, I am certainly glad to hear you are alive, Lzyjo! I loved your pumpkin and laughed at the Martha mania. I was a charter subscriber too and have all the issues from 2000 on. I gave the older ones to my neighbor when we moved from Texas. Honestly I think the older magazines and definitely the old TV shows, no audience or celebrities! Yuck! were so much better. I liked her better when she wasn’t trying to be ‘one of us’. 🙂
    Frances

    Hello, Frances, I agree the earlier stuff was better. Even her first books from the 80s are gorgeous. Martha mania, indeed. There are a lot of admirable qualities in her. Who else could balance being in the public eye and being criminalized as well as she has. Her empire is astonishing. I do believe that she really does care about her home and gardens, like Turkey Hill. So I think she is one of us, even if she hires the best people to execute her plans. Thanks for stopping by, it’s wonderful to hear from you!

  9. Audrey said, on November 12, 2009 at 11:08 AM

    Cute pumpkin 🙂 I haven’t carved one in years, the boys just didn’t enjoy it. Maybe once the grandchildren come along.

    Aww, I love carving them, it’s pretty much the only thing I do for Halloween, since we don’t have Trick ‘r Treaters here in the country and I’m not a drinker/partier. Maybe with the grandchildren it will be different. 🙂 I dyed Easter eggs with the Grandma, but never with my mom, I thought it was fun and funny how it smell like vinegar. LOL! Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

