Worms and Flowers

It’s a Jungle in here

Posted in Plumeria by Lzyjo on October 27, 2009

We had our first real frost last week. It got down to 34 over the night and frosted the windshield. In my experience, the garden survives the first front only to succumb to the second, harder, killing frost. Anyway, the frost event meant I have to bring my tenderites inside.

Photobucket

October is lovely. It’s the only month that it is is safe, (cool enough and dry enough) even pleasurable to open the windows. In humble explanation of the f-ugly fly paper, the open window weather means we are testing our holey, ripped screens, that are torn beyond repair and would you believe, not removable! Can anyone tell me how to clean the outside of window with un-removeable screens? (My arms are NOT made out of silly putty.) Humph, maybe the screen will rip more, so I can peel it back to wash the windows. They are those stupid paned windows too, real panes, not one piece of glass. Awful to clean and the glazing is coming off. I’m just waiting for a pane to pop out. (Curse you landlord, “reaping where you have not sown” (Thank you Karl Marx for the quote) Hmmm. I apologize for the rant, but I’m feel, how should I say, punchy this morning! Actually I’ve been feeling punchy this entire year.  I think my entire tone has become more conversational in a deranged sort of manner, now that I don’t have to continually deal with documents written in contrived legal-speak. Anyway. It’s all too much to think about. So overwhelming. The bad economy and everything else this mad world throws at us. That paragraph was almost exhausting. I think I can now continue in a more subdued tone.

Those aren’t even all the plumerias! I cringe to think how much more space these plumerias will take up with they are all in 3 to 5 gall on pots, or when I have to move. DH is so sweet, these stay in our bedroom all winter. (tiny house) I hope it will look more manageable when the leaves come off. There are also a few avocados, a strawberry guava, and an annona squamosa jammed in there. Definitely not healthy in term s of air circulation again. Good thing the leaves are already coming off. Sign. Summer is really over and Indian summer too? Where is it?

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ourfriendben said, on October 27, 2009 at 12:20 PM

    Gack, Lzyjo! We still have about a hundred plants to haul into the greenhouse for winter! I’m pretending it’s still fall and there’ll be, er, plenty of time to get them safely inside. Uh, right? Right?!! As for the hated window screens, you might want to use screen patches—unsightly but effective—to block off the tears until you can either browbeat your landlord into replacing them or find a better place. Whatever you do, good luck and congrats on keeping a step or two ahead of the weather!

    Oh my, 100? With the plumerias it’s 100s of $$$ and and they are so tropical no less than 50, maximize low 45, I can’t take a chance losing them. Maybe I should reconsider the investment and reallocate to hardier choices! Good luck with moving the plants. I’m probably an exciting project, getting to see your plants all in one place. Oh, I am saving m’ coppers for a green house!

  2. tina said, on October 27, 2009 at 2:24 PM

    Those plants should make for a most healthy sleeping area. And I agree, your husband is a sweetie to allow it!

    So sweet of him, and he DID finance the plumerias too! I guess we have trade offs, I let him keeps his hobbies sprawled out, because they support us financially, okay not the same, but sweet of him nonetheless.

  3. Faith said, on October 27, 2009 at 3:48 PM

    :o)

    Every once in a while a post like that clears the head. :o) Or for me, reveals that my head has already been cleared long ago. LOL

    Non-removable screens? How weird! Maybe they are just painted in with decades of paint globs?

    yeah, I’ve been waiting for Indian Summer as well. I don’t think we are getting one. Strange year. I wonder what 2010 will bring us…

    ~Faith

    Ugh, 2010! It had better be better than this year! They are the WEIRDEST screens! You wouldn’t imagine the time I had futzing with the storm windows, etc., which are also broken! When you’re a renter where is NO SUCH THING as preventative maintenance! LOL! ARG! My head feels very, er empty? Thanks for stopping by, Faith!

  4. gail said, on October 28, 2009 at 5:32 AM

    You do have a sweetie who doesn’t mind climbing around the jungle all winter! There aren’t any plants waiting to come inside! The plant eating cat is to blame! I have a ginormous rosemary that I push to shelter when it gets in the low 20s and a bay tree I struggle to bring in the house at the same temp. I found an expandable screen that fits in the open window…the window closes down on it and it stays in place…So if you want to rip out a screen or two and try them Lowes has them. That way you can clean those windows. When the house was painted this past spring, the painters cleaned the windows. I swear 25% more light came in the house. gail ps maybe the landlord will spring for them.

    Painters who clean windows! What a super idea!! I know the kind of removable screen you mean! There are also little problems with rentals that just drive you crazy, at the last house it was the bad neighborhood and fairgrounds noises, like race cars and fireworks all night long! And the place before it was a long series of unpredictable Thanks for stopping by and you’re right my DH is a saint to put up with it. Sorry you can’t have any plants inside, but I might like your approach better!

  5. Gururaj said, on October 28, 2009 at 7:05 AM

    Have you stopped watering the plumerias after bringing them in? I just got my first two plumerias and the nursery gardener told me to take them inside and stop watering them once it gets cold. The leaves fall off and once spring comes, start watering and they resume normal growth. What do you usually do? And have you propagated plumeria? Thanks for any hints.

    Yes, Gururaj, you are exactly right, they should not be watered while they are dormant inside for the winter. The leaves fall off pretty quickly, (a let them yellow by themselves and then I pull them off) or you can snip off the leaves all at once, leaving the petiole attached and then the little stubs will fall off on their own. The main reason for not watering is that plumerias are very prone to rot since they cannot use the water while dormant. Think of the stem like a water bottle, containing all the reserves the plant needs for the winter. It is totally normal to see some shriveling, dessication, of the stem, by say January, but it is normal nothing to worry about. Rot is much more scary, because it’s hidden inside the stem. The growth tip will remain green and glossy and it will start opening up as the days get longer. I have been guilty of watering in the winter, by only a tiny bit in each pot, less than a cup. I normally flood the pot again when I take them outside around march or so, when ever it’s above 50 degrees. Hope I covered everything 🙂 Take care and feel free to ask any other questions.

    I have also rooted cuttings over the winter, very successfully I might add! I used guidelines from the Plumeria Society of America.
    http://www.theplumeriasociety.org/spps/ahpg.cfm?spgid=43

    I learned almost everything I know about plumerias from from Plumeria Society and Plumeria 101.

    The PSA, had great plumeria care bulletins
    http://www.theplumeriasociety.org/index.cfm

    And Plumeria 101 is also great, a lot of step by step photos and photos of various problems and how to fix them.
    http://www.plumeria101.com/

    When my plumeria arrived in the mail from Miami, I immediately had to deal with rust fungus and a little bit of black tip, another fungus which attacks the growing tip, oy. Black tip, and rust for that matter, usually hit in the spring or fall. This year one plant had black tip in the spring and it really set the plant back becuase it couldn’t grow leaves for almost two months! Luckily all those fungi are easy to treat with fungicide!

  6. Jen said, on October 28, 2009 at 8:08 PM

    We lived in our house for 10 years and never cleaned the windows properly. I couldn’t deal with the storm windows and the screens either. Finally we got a professional to do it with pressure washer. It brightened the house immediately – don’t know why it took us so long.

    I think you’ll be really glad you lived all winter with all those plumerias when they pay you back next year!

    Jen, you’re so right! At least they are just sticks and don’t require any attention! I have washed the windows, but that one, I was only able to do half, better than nothing. I don’t think they had been done in ages. I had to take a scrub brush and scrub off algae like green stuff from the northern windows! LOL! What a chore!

  7. Gururaj said, on October 30, 2009 at 1:45 PM

    Great information on Plumeria, thanks. You have covered all the points and also given me some interesting links. Its still warm out here in Japan – minimum about 64F (16C), so I’m still watering the plumerias. Another 2 weeks I guess.

    Lucky you! I’m glad I could be helpful! I got my first plumerias right before fall in 2007. I had no clue what I was doing. You’re plumerias will be fine. 🙂


Leave a Reply

