Worms and Flowers

The Best Weed

Posted in Blog by Lzyjo on October 3, 2009

I love Saturday mornings. They’re great for leisurely drinking coffee and wandering around the garden. Around here the bike clubs go by. It’s a nice quite time. Have you ever noticed how traffic on Saturday is so much  more well behaved? Cars freely coast down the road enjoyably obeying the speed limit. So for some Saturday fun I’d like share a few odd and entertaining search results.

would cooking apples with tomatoes thick?

Unripe and sour green apples do contain some pectin. If you are thickening tomato products, it would be easier to buy pectin in the canning section.

good flowers for worms?

hmmm, it’s like being a translator, trying to decipher these queries. Do they mean flowers for worms to eat, or flowers that will attract caterpillars? Maybe.

wik pedia pitaia

Eureka! Wikipedia Pitaya!! That must be what they meant!

worms quilts

Did they mean worm’s quilts?! Because I don’t’ know any worms with quilts. Or did they mean a quilt depicting worms, oddly, that’s probably more likely!

verb for worm

I would say wriggle best describes the worm’s motion.

allergic to mangoes and I want to enlist i…..( in the army?)

I don’t think a food allergy is a medical exemption.

The best weed.

Eight searches for this one, five on one day, I’m really not the one to ask, but I’m dying to know!

Californian worms in jars delicious (!)

I’ll let you come to your own conclusions on that one!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tina said, on October 3, 2009 at 2:59 PM

    This Saturday is the best so far. Funny searches for sure.

    I knew there were some weird searches, they just had to be found! Thanks for stopping by, Tina.

  2. Daphne Gould said, on October 3, 2009 at 3:56 PM

    What I want to know is the best weed for what? If it is just the best weed ie the weed that is weediest and won’t go away, in my yard I’d vote for my oriental bittersweet that I keep pulling up. I breaks off rather than pulling up by the roots, gets seeded all over by the birds and strangles the trees. A true weed in every sense of the word. But if you want the best weed for me it would have to be something edible. Like purslane. But truth be told the dandelion would be my pick. It has nice edible greens. It is great bee food in the spring and to top it off, you can make wine out of it. So what were the odds that anyone could have guessed that I’d pick that as my favorite weed?

    I get all sorts of searches that include dandelions. The number one dandelion search is how to grow them inside. I think someday I ought to research it and just write a post on it so I can appease these poor people.

    LOL! Growing dandelions inside! That’s fantastic! To me the best weed is something that can easily be pulled out, but maybe you have it right, it should be the weediest weed. in that case it would be thorny pigweed! LOL! I prefer the multi-purpose ones! Thanks for stopping by Daphne!

  3. ourfriendben said, on October 4, 2009 at 5:34 PM

    OMG, Lzyjo, what a classic crop (so to speak) of queries! I can just see the worms tucked snugly under their tiny quilts. (In fact, I finally broke down this afternoon and moved the worm composter back into the greenhouse for the winter, so the worms wouldn’t get too chilled.) As for the best weed, it’s mugwort. Don’t believe me? Read the section on mugwort in Judith Berger’s book “Herbal Rituals” and you’ll actually be trying to grow it!

    HEHEHE! Worm quilts!! Mugowrt, hummm, I think I’ve seen that growing wild, it has a funny smell. I’ll look into its virtues.

  4. Jen said, on October 5, 2009 at 10:21 AM

    Those are hilarious searches! – maybe they’re trying to tell you something. Like that you should design a worm quilt! Or cook up a stew with mangos tomatoes apples and uh…worms!

    I think you’re right Jen, I must launch a new product line to serve the market!! I’ve found my calling 😉

  5. Gail said, on October 5, 2009 at 10:30 AM

    These are great. Wormy was a character in one of Richard Scarry’s children’s books…I can see him with his little tyrolean hat, bow tie about his neck all tucked under your worm quilt! have a great week! gail

    Aww, Gail, that sounds so cute! I can picture him, Tyrolean hat, quilt, and all!!

  6. fairegarden said, on October 5, 2009 at 12:23 PM

    That was Lowly Worm, Gail. Details schmeatails, right? HA Sorry Lzyjo, Gail and I have a thing about her non detail orientation and my obsessiveness about it. Anyway, we all know that the search was for not the weed weed, but the best other kind of weed, right? And best in what sense? Taste, wallop, easy to grow, most financially rewarding, let us not forget prettiest flower. Love wordpress’ feature about the search terms too. Let me go check today’s. pagent mom victoria brooke is good, but how to make a ice cream concrete is better. Some days are really good, but lately half of them are for muhly grass.
    Frances

    WOW, Ice cream concrete! How technology has surged!! You’re right about the weed, I didn’t even occur to me that they meant weed, weeds…. LOL!

  7. Faith said, on October 5, 2009 at 1:20 PM

    I’m totally lost here. LOL Out of the inside loop.

    What searches are these?

    ~Faith

    People have typed these into Google and then come to by blog from the results!! Not sure if blogger has the same interface, you’d probably have to use Google Analytics to track them. LOL!

  8. writeandcreate said, on October 9, 2009 at 6:17 PM

    Your searches are a hell of lot more interesting than mine. Trying to imagine what they were thinking about when searching for the delicious Californian worms in jars???

    I don’t want to know! It took a while to find weird ones, I don’t get too many.


Leave a Reply

