Worms and Flowers

Inspiration Fall Colorways

Posted in Garden by Lzyjo on September 28, 2009

Fall is a colorful and inspiring time of year, so I thought I’d share a selection of beautiful colors that are a perfect representation of the season. Orange is the archetypal fall color. It embodies a lot of good things about fall, ripening fruits, falling leaves, pumpkins, pies, spices, fires, and warmth during coldness. Oranges lead to gorgeous reds, burnt browns, and deep dark purples. The weather in fall is also colorful, the leaves, green, gold, orange, and crimson. Crisp, clear blue skies, dark grey clouds and hurricanes. Autumn is a wealth of color and nature provides it all.

Photobucket

A colorway is loosely defined as a palette of two or more  colors. Textile designers and decorators use color groupings to make the same prints and patterns in different colors schemes.

Tagged with: , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tina said, on September 28, 2009 at 6:29 AM

    Very neat with the color blocks next to the representative photos-shows most well.

    Thank you, Tina. It was funny and quite surprising. Who knew that an aging barn is grey with tinges of blue and greens?! Funny and fun. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Dawn said, on September 28, 2009 at 9:09 AM

    I saw a curbing with bright pink and silver, Oh I fell right in love with it!

    Pink and silver are gorgeous! Perfect colors for jewelry!

  3. fairegarden said, on September 28, 2009 at 4:01 PM

    Hi Lzyjo, those are truly the colors of fall, in edibles! The peppers are really going strong right now here as well. And the sky could not be more blue. I have to watch where I am walking when I get a glimpse of that sky and cannot look away! 🙂
    Frances

    🙂 I’m with you Frances, my face is upturned to the cloudless blue sky! This weather is just marvelous! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Gail said, on September 28, 2009 at 5:29 PM

    Lyzyjo, I could have used your help in picking out paint colors! You’re an artist and know color theory! The archetypal orange is perfect paired with the October blue sky! gail

    Awww!!!! (Squeaks!) That’s far to sweet of you! The truth is I go with my feelings, putting whatever color theory I do know into the wind! Nature is the real color master!! Thank you for stopping by, Gail!

  5. ourfriendben said, on September 28, 2009 at 6:59 PM

    Love the photos and the color blocks, Lzyjo! Only a quilter could see the association. Way to go!!!

    LOL! I’m a color junkie! Gardening and the outdoor just happen to be where I get my fix! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Jen said, on September 28, 2009 at 9:40 PM

    On blogspot there is an area where you can go and look at the color palate of your blog- it’s always interesting for me to see what’s rising to the top color-wise. You’ve chosen some nice combos here!

    WOW! I didn’t know about that feauture! It must be newish, makes me wish I hadn’t abandoned blogger. I hope my most dominate color is green!!


Leave a Reply

