Worms and Flowers

Finally Fall?

Posted in Friday Garden Update by Lzyjo on September 25, 2009

Fog doesn’t seem half as bad as rain, in fact the foggy mountain view is my favorite because it covers up that U-G-L-Y cell tower.

Photobucket

What a relief! A brief respite from the rain! I think I was getting a bit of, oh, I hate to say it, cabin fever. Already! But I got it all out of my system!

Photobucket

The peppers are STILL going, if a little too strong!! There are also a few green tomatoes on the indeterminate Amish Pastes, more on that another time.

Photobucket

This is the first year I have grown fennel, and wow, it’s smashed my expectations. It is a truly wild and crazy plant. Just look at that multitude of tangled and twisted flowers. Magnificent. Too bad the caterpillars haven’t touched it! It’s shoulder height on me and I am 5’9″. Wild! And that’s a lot of seeds too!

Photobucket

I’m not sure if there is a month that does not go quickly, but this one certainly did! It seems like the peppers were just waiting for the equinox before they turned red, it’s all happening so quickly!

Photobucket

One thing I don’t mind about long rains is the indisputable growth spurt. This cabbage has really taken off, far out-pacing the cauliflower, for whatever reason.

Photobucket

The leeks are also doing well. These are exceptionally pretty ‘Blue Solaize.’

Photobucket

Ah, another of my favorites, the fair Merveille des Quatre Saisons! I love the way the greens and blushing purples mix, it’s almost like an optical illusion.

There are good things about fall, when it’s not raining!

I hope you all saw some blue sky, before it gets worse this weekend!

Tagged with: ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ourfriendben said, on September 26, 2009 at 9:17 AM

    What a gorgeous view, Lzyjo! It’s making me homesick! Our hot peppers are also in full swing now, just as everything else is starting to wind down. Drooling over your leeks and lovely lettuce!

    oh, I surely did not mean to make anyone homesick, although I wouls feel that way if I didn’t have this view from my back door. I am so over the hot peppers, I just want them to be done right now. Thanks for stopping by, have a great weekend!

  2. Barbee' said, on September 26, 2009 at 3:24 PM

    It amazes me how much can still be harvested at this late date, a little here, a bit of that, some of this, etc. and it adds up to a nice gathering. Nice photos – greatly enjoyed!

    Thank you for the sweet comments. You’re right there really is a nice selection through the fall. I’m glad to be cleaning up the garden though, it was looking a little to overgrown!

  3. fairegarden said, on September 27, 2009 at 6:10 AM

    Wonderful, Lzyjo! A respite from the rain is wanted over here in the southeast corner as well. Your peppers are beautiful and the other veggies so handsome. We don’t have a single leaf on any plant without a million holes. I have seeds of that lettuce shown at the end and might sown some today, thanks for the inspiration! 🙂
    Frances

    Yes, the relief is great! I hope you have a gorgeous Sunday, to so clear out, I can’t wait to get outside! You’ll love the lettuce, its truly gorgeous! Thanks for the wonderful comments and thanks for stopping by!

  4. tina said, on September 27, 2009 at 7:56 PM

    Your garden is looking so good! Now that the sun is here those cabbages will reach for the sky.

    Thank you, Tina! It’s not the truth though, there are parts that look okay and others that look terrible, you’re right about the cabbage though, it’s growing like crazy!

  5. Gail said, on September 28, 2009 at 5:26 PM

    Your garden is looking delicious…hmm…could it be that it is not only lovely, but that it’s dinner time here! Your view is lovely…I know what you mean about towers…all my photos have utility poles and lines in them! gail

    LOL! I love it, a delicious looking garden! I love the view here, Gail. It a real pleasure to step outside. We have a little slice of heaven right hre, nestled in the rolling hills! Those utility lines are such a buzz kill!

  6. Jen said, on September 28, 2009 at 9:38 PM

    I am officially jealous – you still have a lot going on there. Particularly the fennel, which I ‘ve tried to grow unsuccessfully. How convenient that the fog hides your cell tower – LOL!

    LOL!!! I love it when the clouds cover it! I lied, I have actually TRIED to grow fennel before, but not successfully. Better luck next time? I know you can do it!!


Leave a Reply

