Worms and Flowers

All Peppered Out

Posted in Garden by Lzyjo on September 8, 2009

Ten hot peppers plants, one word…Wow!

Yup, it’s THAT bad!!

8.5 Pounds of chopped green chilies in the freezer, plus a few packages of green chili sauce, PLUS all the peppers we could pack into just about every meal this summer. I’m  all peppered out. Normally, (since I was five or so) I’ve liked spicy things. But now, I cannot bear to eat another bite of spicy food. I can’t eat my own salsa. Nothing. I have some how sensitized myself to the hot peppers. I feeling my throat burning all the way down. Even things that are not “hot” seem blistering to me. Unfun. I’m leaving the multitude of hot peppers hanging on the plants until they turn red, then I’ll harvest them and dry them.

I didn’t think 10 hot pepper plants were too many, this spring.  I have 20 pepper plants all together, 10 sweet, 10 hot. Three long Indian chili plants, two Cayennes, two Anaheims, one jalapeno, one pablano,  and one Hungarian wax.

While I may have given myself pepperitis, I’ve been lucky enough to escape Hunan hand. Hunan hand is a term for a severe burning sensation in the hands after Capsaicinoids are absorbed into the skin when handling large quantities of chilies.

Photobucket

When chopping large amounts of chilies, this is my method.  I arrange chilies of similar shapes and sizes. This may take a little extra time, but it is very safe and in the long run may save time, becuase the piles are easier to chop.  On the left are curved green chilies that didn’t have room to go straight down. They are easy to chop when locked together in a pile. In the middle are the perfect straight Indian green chilies. On the right are the Cayennes. It’s easy to tell them apart, not only becuase they are smaller, the characteristic wrinkles are the dead giveaway.

Photobucket

Following Daphne’s method, (from Daphn’e s Dandelion’s) I chopped the green chilies and froze them raw. I’ve also froze some Anaheims whole for stuffing, but I did cut off the stems, because it saves room and prevents bag punctures. Chopped green chilies take up way-less space so it’s the most efficient way to store them. Below is a about half a bowl full, before it was chopped they took up two bowls of space. A huge savings.

Until next time, take it easy with the peppers. 😉

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daphne Gould said, on September 8, 2009 at 10:55 AM

    I got myself one time I chopped chilies. Ouch. I had a hot hand for a couple of hours. I ought to wear gloves, but I usually don’t. You had some very prolific peppers. I think mine will come a little over a 1/3lb per plant, which is way below your yield, but for me it is pretty good.

    Daphne, one never knows what will do good. There is always something that is too prolific. Your yields are way better on most other things. With the hot peppers, they say you only make that mistake once, protective eyewear and gloves are recommended, I guess I just like pushing the limits. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. tina said, on September 8, 2009 at 11:54 AM

    Ha! Too funny all those peppers. They are the one plant that is giving me lots of veggies too. it is nice to get anything like this and these look so good!

    Funny how things work out. You’re right they are gorgeous. And they’re expensive at the store. Lots of good things about growing peppers!

  3. jgh said, on September 8, 2009 at 6:05 PM

    I got burned once under the fingernails. Yow – I learned my lesson! My sister in law just brought me a huge bag of green chile powder from New Mexico. I’m grateful because I only grew jalapeno this year. Yeah, I’m a bit of a wimp – thanks for the chopping tips, though!

    Believe me, one jalepeno plant sounds great to me. I didn’t know green chili powder existed, what a great idea. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Faith said, on September 8, 2009 at 8:32 PM

    I appreciate the processing tips. I’ve been doing them several ways, but am never sure which is the best, as I’ve never grown enough to have to think about it before. I like the chop and freeze method second to dehydrating.

    ~Faith

    In the past I cooked the green chilies and froze the sauce, but I found the color really drained in the freezer. Hopefully this will be better.


Leave a Reply

