Worms and Flowers

Simply Salsa

Posted in Recipes by Lzyjo on September 1, 2009

Ah, salsa. The cherry on the nacho cake.  Okay, lousy metaphor for a wonderful condiment. Salsa comes in smaller, pricier jars than tomato sauce, so surely it must be harder to make? NO?! NO! It’s not. Blast! If anything, it is easier. It can be made in a frying pan using just 2 pounds of tomatoes! No kidding.  The following recipe is for salsa as simple as it gets. K.I.S. I like to leave of the last S, becuase it’s unnecessary, but inevitably I think Stupid, anyway!

Preparation

Rinse two pounds of tomatoes and blanch in a large pot of water to a boil.

Let the water come back to a boil and cook for approximately five minutes.

The skins of the tomatoes should be just splitting open. Cook too quickly and the skin will still be attached, cook too long and pulp will exit the cracks in the skin.

Cool tomatoes under running water or in an ice bath.

Peel the blanched tomatoes. The skin should come off in one piece (hopefully 😉 fingers crossed, knock on wood, pray to god….)

After your tomatoes are peeled you can take a break and let them rest overnight and a lot of the water will drain off, or if you’re feeling energetic, proceeded with the salsa. Draining the additional water off can help produce a thicker salsa more quickly.

Cooking the Salsa

Chop one onion

Chop the two pounds of blanched tomatoes

Chop 3- 5 ounces of green chilies for a mild-medium salsa. Approximately 8 oz for hot.

Bell peppers can also be added, but are optional.

Combine the ingredients in a skillet and simmer for about 40 minutes until the tomatoes break apart, mostly.

Season to taste with salt and sugar.

I used about 2 tsps of salt and 1/4 C of brown sugar for two pounds of tomatoes. Salsa, being a condiment, known for being piquant, (as in Picante) requires stronger seasonings than you would normally add to a sauce or main dish.

Yields approximately 3 Jars.

Tagged with: , , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tina said, on September 1, 2009 at 10:11 AM

    Cherry on the nacho cake? I just can’t get this image out of my mind now and all of a sudden I have a craving for something salty. I sure do love salsa! You must be harvesting a bunch of tomatoes from your garden. All I get is cherry tomatoes.

    LOL! I LOVE LOVE nachos, so simple and good. I think it should work with cherry toms. I used some cherry tomatoes to make sundried tomatoes! Thanks for stopping by, Tina!

  2. ourfriendben said, on September 1, 2009 at 12:21 PM

    Salsa, nachos, YUM!!!! Thnaks for sharing your recipe.

    You’re welcome. I’ll sure I’ll be visiting your blog to search for some other flavored salsa recipes! Peach….pineapple…MMM!! Gosh, I’m making myself hungry!

  3. inadvertentfarmer said, on September 1, 2009 at 6:08 PM

    Purple Calabash…those are what the dark ruffled tomatoes are. Thanks for visiting…I love salsa and will have to give it a try! Kim

    The Purple Calabash are gorgeous, I would grow them just for looks. Definitely adding to my listing, thanks for stopping by and letting me know what kind they are! Oh, and it’s hard to beat garden-fresh salsa. MMMM!


Leave a Reply

