Worms and Flowers

Friday Garden Update #10

Posted in Friday Garden Update by Lzyjo on August 21, 2009

Wow, it’s been about a month since the last garden update. A lot has happened in that time. The peppers are still producing wildly. The tomatoes are dying a long slow death. The zucchinis and gone and the yellowing squash are slowing down. The corn, which failed miserably, is being removed from the garden.

Photobucket

Things for fall are already being planted. A few cauliflower transplants, some lettuce starts, leek starts, and a few things by seed, peas, spinach, and carrots.

Photobucket

Cucumber. Hoping to save seed. It’s hard to tell in a photograph and gargantuan size of this cucumber.

Photobucket

A reminder to stake those pepper plants.

Photobucket

Here is a day’s typical harvest, a ton of peppers of all kinds. A few squash and a few tomatoes.

Photobucket

I still have not tasted a Charentais, as the third one also split before ripening.

The tomatoes are really on their last leg. I have already pulled out three of my seven plants. I fear it’s too late for any preventative measures. Luckily, although the plants are dying, it did not effect the yields.

My biggest failure of the season was the corn, it wasted a ton of space and it sucked, in a word.  Oddly enough the corn that performed best for me, this year, was a hybrid, though I’d  rather believe it was timing that caused that corn to escape the evil corn ear worm. Arg.

Some good news.  Minus expenses we’re over $100 in the black!!! Woohooo!!!

Have a great weekend everyone and enjoy those unheard of temperatures in the 70s!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daphne Gould said, on August 21, 2009 at 3:18 PM

    Congrats on being in the black. Corn was a total failure in my garden this year. I had a lot of disappointments, but that was the only total loss.

    Thank you for the congratulations! Two years in a row corn was a TOTAL failure. I hate corn ear worms more than anything. Corn is surprisingly one of the hardest things to grow. I swear it requires an acre for proper pollination. I harvested about 5 edible ears. About 1/4 of the garden was corn, what a waste of space. Live and learn right.

  2. gail said, on August 21, 2009 at 3:57 PM

    I am looking forward to the change in temps! Congrats on being in the garden black! gail

    Thank you, it’s amazing to see the tally add up. When it comes weather take advantage of it while it’s there! Thanks for stopping by, Gail.

  3. tina said, on August 21, 2009 at 7:55 PM

    Woo hoo indeed for being in the black! Your veggie garden is so big-I’m so jeaulous! Your harvest looks most good!

    Yes, Tina, it’s bigger than I ever imagined. Pure luck. One of the NICER things about living on a farm. Wide open space. Sometimes I wish it t’wer smaller so I could weed less!

  4. Faith said, on August 21, 2009 at 9:19 PM

    All I can say about our garden was that is was a learning experience.

    We had really good things happen and really bad things, but it was good to finally begin to know this red earth. So different!

    Your garden looks great. I guess you escaped fusarium wilt. 🙂

    ~Faith

    My tomatoes, the romas at least, are Fusarium wilt resistant, supposedly.
    It’s delight and heartbreak in the garden, but always a learning experience. One of these years will be really really good, I hope! Thanks for stopping by, Faith.

  5. easygardener said, on August 22, 2009 at 11:22 AM

    You have done well with the peppers. I wish it was possible to grow them outside here but we don’t get a long period of hot weather. I can never understand how a cucumber manages to hide among the leaves until it gets far too big!
    BTW Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.

    EasyGardener, your are very welcome. It was high time I stopped by. I have seen your comments on many of the blogs I read. This is by far my best year with the peppers. I would love to have a quaint little greenhouse. We just make the best with what we have.

  6. Barbee' said, on August 24, 2009 at 7:59 AM

    That cucumber looks HUGE to me. Nice peppers. Years ago I read in an Organic Magazine: to repel the corn worm, put a couple of drops of mineral oil on the young ear at the end where the silks will/do stick out. I never tried it. They also recommended to plant the corn in blocks not rows in order to get better pollination. Maybe you already have done that. It is all such a challenge. Your return looks really good to me. I know we don’t like failures, though.

    Barbee, that cuc is so big I can’t wrap my hand around it! Thanks for the tip about the mineral oil. I tried to do three or four row of corn, perhaps the sq ft method would be better, I’m certainly all for giving it a try, thanks for the good tips!

  7. skeeter said, on August 26, 2009 at 12:36 PM

    Sorry about your corn but the rest of your crops looks wonderful! I would say you had a good year over all wouldnt you? 🙂

    Thank you Skeeter, I would totally say it was a good year, there are always bound to be some failures, but it may be my best yet!


Leave a Reply

