Worms and Flowers

Blackberry Season with Recipe

Posted in Recipes by Lzyjo on July 27, 2009

It’s mid July the height of blackberry season.Photobucket

Berries, like black gold, are a seasonal treat to be savored while they last.

Photobucket

We always manage to eat all the before before we get around to making anything, but if you have a ton of berries to use, a lovely seasonal Blackberry-Apple pie would be a great way to use them! Here’s a Recipe from “Farm Journal’s Best-Ever Pies” cookbook. I haven’t tried it, but their recipes are always spot-on.

Double Pie Crust

2 C. flour

1 tsp. salt

1/2 C.  oil

3 Tbsp ice water

Sift or whisk flour and salt. Blend in oil with a fork or pastry blender, sprinkle ice water over the crumbly (sand-like) flour mixture. Form into a ball and divide roughly in half, one half slightly larger for the bottom. Chill. Roll out when ready to use

Blackberry-Apple Pie

3 C. Blackberries

1 C. Tart apples, pared and sliced.

1 C. Sugar

3 Tbsp Quick cooking tapioca (I would substitute corn starch for this)

1/2 Tsp Cinnamon

2 Tbsp butter, chopped.

Mix fruits together. Whisk dry ingredients. Mix  dry ingredients with the fruit. Pour into your pastry shell, dot with the 2 Tbsp of butter. Cover with the top crust and slit for steam to escape.

Bake at 425 for 40 to 50 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and the filling bubbly.

Cool before eating, if you can wait!

MMMM!!!!

Tagged with: , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daphne Gould said, on July 27, 2009 at 10:35 AM

    Those blackberries look delicious. I do so love berry season.

    Thank you Daphne, excluding the seeds, they are definitely as good as they look!! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. tina said, on July 27, 2009 at 11:39 AM

    That picture is so awesome at first I thought it was cherries. I think I need to go pick some blackberries now:)

    They are SO shiny! Beautiful goodness! What a great idea, I should pick more before they’re gone! I got bitten to death out there picking and I thought I found poison ivy between my fingers, don’t forget the Off! like I did!

  3. Faith said, on July 27, 2009 at 2:57 PM

    Ugh, we are covered in blackberries. I have a 90 foot row of extremely prolific Doyle Thornless and we get about a gallon a day.

    I’m done with jam and pie filling…. I eat too many desserts. I did a search yesterday for ‘blackberry main dishes’ LOL Nothing.

    I love them, but all the dishes they are used in have flour and sugar, things I really don’t need much of.

    ~Faith

    How about sorbet, or paletas, those are not AS caloric.
    There is a huge section of blackberry fence here too, I don’t even bother there, is too far away, and there are plenty of bountiful bushes closer to the house. I think I may freeze some, raw with sugar to use during the winter!

  4. gail said, on July 27, 2009 at 5:41 PM

    I want to pick blackberries~~my best gail goes to the country as a kid memories are of picking blackberries and being chased away by the cows! The patch was in the middle of their field. Nothing beats the warm from the sun, just picked taste…gail

    Awwww! We’re scared of the cows too and we’re grown-ups! One time after part of the herd was taken to the the meathouse, or wherever they go, we became strategically surrounded by them! We can to crawl under the fence in a hurry! They block us from our gate and then when we’d try to go any where they’d cut us off! Weirdos!!!! I love purple blackberry-stained fingers, the chigger bites are just a trade off!

  5. Naturlnightdew said, on August 6, 2009 at 8:54 PM

    Looks so pretty and delicious. I have just planted a Mulberry tree. I guess I will need for about 1 year, before it will start fruiting…. Wish I could plant the blackberry in my garden……….wish,wish wish…..

    Mmmm, I used to love eating mulberries when I was a kid, there was a bug tree at my friend’s house. As for blackberries, they take over everything where they grow, so maybe it’s a good thing.


Leave a Reply

