Worms and Flowers

Friday Garden Update #9

Posted in Friday Garden Update by Lzyjo on July 24, 2009

This week was a a little bit of the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Photobucket

Curses on the Charentais melon! Me and the French never got along, seems to be the case with this cantaloupe as well.

Photobucket

Some of my tomato plants are really looking diseased. They can barely hold themselves up.

Photobucket

Still waiting on the Marconi peppers. I’m hoping the turn red soon.

Photobucket

Sheepnose Pimento is almost ripe, such a deep  red color. I’m really excited about these. I’m sure they’re going to be delicious!

Photobucket

Another sugar baby watermelon. This one weighed seven pounds.

Photobucket

The butternut vines all died. These did really well for me last year, but this year they are only 1/3 of their full sized advertised at 3 to 6 pounds each. I only had a few large ones, the average size is just under a pound each. There was no sign of disease of sawdust from the SVB.  I’m guessing it was just not a good year for these. Hopefully next year will be better!

Photobucket

The chiles are going crazy! This weeks harvest was 15 ounces.

Photobucket

This is one of my volunteer sunflowers, at least 20 flowers on this one.  A freak of nature I tell you.  It will be fun to see what next year’s look like, it seems like the variation of yellows is becoming greater and greater.

Photobucket

I am pleased with the hyacinth bean, a big improvement on that ugly brown pole. (With an out-of-service satellite on it.)

Photobucket

The biggest news of the week is that the garden expenses are in the black now!  Total harvest, minus expenses $6.70. Wooohoo!!!

Have a great weekend! TGIF!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tina said, on July 24, 2009 at 1:18 PM

    The sunflowers and peppers alone would make it worth it to garden. They are awesome. Bummer on the cantaloupe for sure.

    There are many things that make it worth it, there are also many issues along the way! That damn cantaloupe! I curse it!

  2. gail said, on July 24, 2009 at 5:13 PM

    I agree with Tina! I tasted those cantaloupes before and totally get why you wanted them to grow! The best taste ever! gail

    Ou!!! You’ve had one! And they really are good! OMG, OMG, I must go up to the garden and have a stern talkin’ to with the remaining ones!!!

  3. Bloomin Crazy said, on July 25, 2009 at 7:38 PM

    I feel your pain. Tomatoes have not done well this year for me, as well. Between too many cool nights and now triple digit temps and spider mites, it seems pretty hopeless. Fortunately, being in zone 8a, I might get a small fall set in. Gotta keep trying!

    Ung! Tomatoes can be such a pain! Between the diseases, critters, and bugs, it’s a battle for sure. I hope your tomatoes plants pull through. One things going for us is they grow like crazy,m hopefully they’ll out grow their problems.

  4. Jen said, on July 27, 2009 at 9:30 AM

    Woohoo is right.! Excellent harvest I’d say. Though that melon seems like a candidate for Garden bloggers death day 😉 Peppers look gorgeous – so does the watermellon.

    Did your tomatoes get the blight? It’s really bad up here- some growers losing more than half their tomato crops.

    Congratulations on making it into the black.

    Thank you, Jen, it was really exciting to break even, now I get to watch the total grow!! Yeah, that canteloupe is a sorry sight. Just as I thought it was getting big, boom, I find that split open bit! Grrr! I don’t my tomatoes have blight, they symptoms are really looking the same. The seeds packet for the Romas says they are resistant to Fusarium and Verticillium wilt, so I’ don’t know what they’ve got, I hope your plants are going strong they looked great in the pictures!

  5. Gururaj said, on July 29, 2009 at 3:26 AM

    Hi, I have two questions:
    1) Is the plant next to the brown pole a Plumeria? If yes, is the flowering season over? Were the flowers fragrant?
    2) Is the last photo that of a fennel plant?
    Cheers.

    Yes, it is a “unknown” plumeria, I think the seller lost the tag. It’s about as tall as I am, probably 5 feet tall without the pot. It was intense red/pink with a nice spicy, sweet smell.

    Yes, the last photo is a fennel, I planted Florence fennel, but I’m not sure that the seeds are really those, not all of my plants look the same. One had a bulb and the others are tall, skinny, and blueish colored. Hope this helps.

  6. Gururaj said, on July 29, 2009 at 7:32 AM

    OK. I’m trying to get a Plumeria here in Japan – I’m going to visit the nursery tomorrow that grows and sells it. Hopefully I’ll find the same colors that I used to see when I was a school kid in India.
    The fennel plant that I’m growing has similar flowers and seeds. The seeds when green can be eaten – if you visit Indian restaurants, they have the dried fennel seeds at the counter when you clear the bill – you just pop a handful in your mouth. They have a sweet after taste and are supposedly helpful in digestion.

    I like those fennel seeds with the pretty colors! They’re a nice ending to the meal and they also remind me of my dear Indian friends, they usually had a container in their living room. I hope you find the colors you are looking for! They’re all pretty I don’t think you can go wrong. Take some pictures of the nursery, I’m sure it’s amazing to see so many plumerias in one place!

  7. Lizzy said, on September 10, 2009 at 2:37 PM

    Wow! I wish I knew how to garden. It looks like so much fun, but I just don’t understand how it all works. Too much information to learn! I tried growing a few herbs and some tomatoes this year. It was the first time I ever tried to grow anything. Not all of it did well, but I was pretty proud for a beginner. Still waiting on my tomatoes to ripen. I’m doubting if they will before it gets cold here. We don’t get too much sun in our back yard 😦

    Thanks for stopping by, Lizzy! Herbs are a great start! They can add some much to meals, a lot cheaper than buying herbs too. I’m sure Patrick could hook you up with some tomatoes suited for the short season, perhaps a Siberian variety. With gardening, persistence is key!


Leave a Reply

