Worms and Flowers

My Pathetic Pineapple Sage

Posted in Flowers by Lzyjo on July 14, 2009

Salvia Elegans, Pineapple Sage, had been on my list for a long time. It was last winter when I finally got one. Fragrant foliage scented like pineapple and spires of red flowers that are a hummingbird’s dream. Everything about the plant sounded so cherry to me.

I made a nice space for it, with southern exposure, where it surely would flower and planted it out in the spring. It grew steadily bigger during the unseasonably cool spring. Then the summer heat set in and even with supplemental water and the shade of the sunflower poof it shriveled up, leaving three branches.

Photobucket

It is a sad, sad, sight. The tender Pineapple sage, hardy, but dying back to the ground in Zone 8 and 9, is apparently as heat sensitive as it is intolerant to cold. Harumphfffffffff.

What should I do. Move on to another humming bird magnet, or try replanting it in a shadier position?

I reeeeeally wanted this one to work out! I still love all of its lovely features, even if it won’t grow for me!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tina said, on July 14, 2009 at 10:10 AM

    I grow this and LOVE it. Mine are planted in part shade (no full sun here). It is true that during drought periods you must water it but I find that it is far more water hardy than things like hydrangeas or impatiens. You could move it or occasionally give it water. In a few weeks it will really take off. Mine are about 2 feet tall and very full. The real joy is when it blooms in September! I only for the first time planted it last summer and love it for its late bloom and wonderful size. Hang in there. Hint: take cuttings now and stick them in some dirt and they too will bloom this summer. Come fall when frost is threatened, move the cuttings into the garage in a sunny area and check for dryness occasionally then next summer you have ready made plants! This is where all of mine came from-5 total and they are all in one area. I like to winter these over and I tell you I will always garden with pineapple sage. I posted about mine last fall when it bloomed. Hang tough, it will be worth it.

    Thank you the the great advice, Tina!! I will save my pineapple sage!

  2. Gail said, on July 14, 2009 at 3:49 PM

    I am waiting, too! It had bloom when I planted it and now it’s just a lovely green small shrub…I do know the many of the salvias/sages bloom later in the season. gail

    It was going so good and now I just hope it survives. I guess if it’s waiting for the short day length of autumn I must wait too. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Alison Dale said, on July 14, 2009 at 5:17 PM

    Tina has the right idea! My sweet smelling Pineapple Sage plants were beginning to wilt from poor planning on my part and too sun exposure. I’ve moved them into a more shady area and I check them for moisture daily. Fortunately for me, Charleston, SC enjoys an afternoon rain shower complete with thunder and lightning, almost every afternoon so there is not much watering to do by hand but it does get pretty hot here this time of year, and things dry up very quickly. Now that they have recuperated a bit, I’ve taken some cuttings and rooted them for planting into containers that I am going to try in different sections of my yard. I will move them into my sun room over the winter.

    It will be worth the work and the wait once you get some blooms!

    I do really love the scent and want it to grow for me. I was putting a full watering can on it almost every day and it was still wilted and shriveling I will more it into deeper shade. I am envious of your afternoon thunder storms we never get them!! What I great idea to try cutting in numerous positions!! I better take some while it’s still alive. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your experience!

  4. jgh said, on July 15, 2009 at 11:40 AM

    I agree with whatever Tina said 😉

    This is one I’ll have to look for. Does is smell any different from regular sage?

    It smells A LOT like pineapple!!! Just brushing the leaves releases the scent. I haven’t tried eating it, but I’ll give it a taste.

  5. Buy Salvia D said, on January 19, 2010 at 11:25 PM

    Keen insights here on this blog and I enjoy your take on things. One thing I have noticed is what we think about is 100% what we produce. We create our own reality.

    Thanks for stopping, by thanks a lovely thought to contemplate. Hopefully what what we choose to cultivate in our heads is positive.


Leave a Reply

