Worms and Flowers

The Giant Bugs have Landed

Posted in How To by Lzyjo on July 9, 2009

My papier mache bugs are finally finished! I was hoping to have them done by July, but they lingered in the shed awaiting the last coats 0f spar (marine) varnish. Here is my original post showing pictures of the sketches and armatures with out papier mache.

I used all materials from the garbage, mostly cardboard and newspaper. I also used a few items that I had on hand bamboo skewers, duct tape, spray paint, stain, copper wire scavenged from a construction site, and clothesline rope.

Photobucket

Above is the Boll Weevil, I think it’s my favorite one. I really like the way the bruise colored finish came out. I used purple stain to covered the mache. I sponged on blue and green stain over the purple and finished it by sprayed over lightly with black.

Photobucket

Here is the menacing Colorado Potato Beetle. All of the antennas are made from copper electrical wire. I drilled a hole through the body with my mini Dremel and threaded a length of wire through the hole(s). I secured the antennas with a piece of bamboo skewer tightly pushed into the hole. The antennas were then wrapped with papeir mache.

Photobucket

For the wings of the squash vine borer I marked the veins with a Sharpie and cut lengths of clothesline rope and soaked the rope in papier mache paste and then stuck them on to the premarked lines. After they dried I used regular white glue along the edges of the rope to prevent anything from moving. The ropes and wing were then paper mached over.

The bugs are strong enough to stand on their own legs, ( I actually pick them up by the leg) but I didn’t want them in contact with the ground moisture, so I secured three bamboo skewers through the bottom of each bug. It also gives them a little height to scare groundhogs!!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tina said, on July 9, 2009 at 7:25 PM

    These are so cool! I am going to check your other post too, but right now short on time.

    Thank you, Tina.

  2. Faith said, on July 10, 2009 at 5:58 AM

    LOL Very clever! Do you do this every year, just for fun, or have you a market for them?

    ~Faith

    Oh, it’s totally for fun, maybe a little bit of a joke. I made a gargoyle last year for Halloween. The post is in the how to section. It’s actually my all time most popular post, according to the stats.

  3. gail said, on July 10, 2009 at 6:23 AM

    They are fantastic! The wings are perfect. You are good! gail

    Thank you so much, Gail. My genius was there for me!

  4. Jen said, on July 10, 2009 at 8:05 AM

    I am agog. These are the coolest!! You could make money doing this.

    Aww! Thanks Jen that’s so sweet! Our mail man complimented the gargoyle!

  5. LindaLunda said, on July 10, 2009 at 8:12 AM

    WOW!!!! How cool are´nt they!!!!! AWSOME!

    Thank you, LindaLunda. I had a lot of fun making them!

  6. Kristine said, on July 10, 2009 at 10:42 AM

    LOL! i love them, and wanted to know if they work to keep any four legged predators away! i can see lots of love goes into your garden!

    Thanks, I do love my garden. The jury is still out on the results, but I haven’t seen the groundhog leaving the garden when I get there anymore! Thanks for stopping by Kristine!

  7. deb said, on August 12, 2009 at 1:58 PM

    o yes indeedy…thanks so much for the recipe and these links. Big Bugs are Better!
    and I am all about making stuff outta garbage..I’ll keep you posted.

    You’re very welcome, I had a very hard time finding recipes when I was starting also. It’s exciting making thing from garbage. I can’t wait to see what you’ll come up with!


Leave a Reply

