Worms and Flowers

Great Sunflower Project: First Observation

Posted in Great Sunflower Project by Lzyjo on July 2, 2009

I strutted back to the house dramatically waving my official data sheet and clip-on ball point pen, DH looked a little startled when I popped inside the back door. “Back so soon,” he questioned, as if I had forgotten something. I triumphantly proclaimed that there at least five bees, no, at least six bees, all on the lone flower when I arrived. I hurriedly grabbed the camera, returned the stop watch to DH and headed back to the garden to capture the awesome sight.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Sign up for Next year’s Great Sun Flower Project

Tagged with: , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tina said, on July 2, 2009 at 8:21 AM

    I know how excited you must be! Results!

    It’s a funny feeling. I almost felt giddy that I was actually submitting official results that could be used for a really important cause that is close to my heart. I really feel great about the great sunflower project. Thanks for stopping by, Tina.

  2. Daphne Gould said, on July 2, 2009 at 11:13 AM

    I joined and have one live sunflower left. It isn’t blooming yet though. I hope it lives long enough to bloom for me so I can record the number of bees. Bees are kinda hard to find right now though with all the rain. Usually my cilantro is crawling with them at this point, but I barely see any there.

    I hope your sunflower pulls through, Daphne. They are a pretty lemon yellow and they bees just love them. I really enjoy seeing the bees with their legs covered in pollen. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. jgh said, on July 2, 2009 at 12:24 PM

    So this is the lemon Queen ?!! Those bees must be making Royal Jelly!

    Yes, it is!! Doesn’t it look lemony! Much less golden yellow! They bees are busy what every they are doing. The name royal jelly grosses me out!

  4. Faith said, on July 4, 2009 at 7:00 AM

    What great pics! So pretty. 🙂

    ~Faith

    Thank you, Faith, I love the lemony yellow, not what I was expecting, but aptly named!

  5. wayne said, on July 5, 2009 at 6:16 AM

    I am waiting for some blooms so that my students and I can start observing the bees! great photo

    Thank you. Mine too forever to bloom. It’s a great project and very rewarding too. Good luck!

  6. artistsgarden said, on July 5, 2009 at 2:31 PM

    The bees and sunflower are fabulous, Mine are really struggling, so great to see yours.
    K

    Thank you, Karen, They can take their time because they have to grow so tall, but once they do it’s beautiful! I love the yellow flowers and blue sky and the bees! Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

