Worms and Flowers

Printable Seed Envelope

Posted in Printable Seed Packet by Lzyjo on June 29, 2009

Now is prime seed saving time. Peas, lettuce and other cool season crops are are maturing and their seeds are almost ready to harvest. One of the most important things, besides basic seed saving information, is having packets and a place to store the precious seeds for next year’s garden.
Photobucket

I got the instructions for this paper seed envelope pattern in a public domain book about children’s gardening on Project Gutenberg, which I haven’t been able to find since. I drafted the pattern and have been using it for quite a while now.

I made a traceable template out of lightweight cardboard box.  Any cereal, cheez-it, or snack food box will work. The pattern can also be printed on regular or reused paper.

Materials: Scissors, glue stick, paper

Instructions: Pre fold tabs A-C on dotted lines. Fold and glue in alphabetical order. Fold tab A. Apply glue to the outside vertical edge of tab B. Glue tab B to back of tab A. Fold tab C over edge AB and glue. Write the harvest date and contents. The envelope is ready to be filled. I usually wait until sealing before folding tab D.

Click on the link Printable Seed Packet and Adobe Reader will open a PDF that you can print and save.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Faith said, on June 29, 2009 at 7:07 AM

    Terrifically helpful! I will make these. I hope to save as many of my own seeds as possible this year.

    Thanks!

    ~Faith

    Thank you. This is my first year seriously saving the vegetables. My fingers are crossed!

  2. Faith said, on June 29, 2009 at 7:33 AM

    You have been given the Honest Scrap Award! Enjoy it in good health!

    ~Faith

  3. tina said, on June 29, 2009 at 8:29 AM

    Very nice. I always admire folks who take the time to make these and print them up nicely.

    Thanks. I need to work on a fancy edition for gifts.

  4. Darla said, on June 29, 2009 at 11:14 AM

    Cool!

    Thank you, Darla.

  5. Gururaj said, on June 29, 2009 at 1:58 PM

    Just what the doctor ordered!
    I have printed it out and will soon have several seed packets from used paper. Thanks.

    You’re welcome, Gururaj! They’re really handy!

  6. gail said, on June 29, 2009 at 3:16 PM

    My sister still sends snail mail and makes her own envelopes! They are always recycled paper and colorful! She’ll love this pattern!

    Gail

    Aww, personalized envelopes. that’s so special! What a great idea! Kind of reminds me of mail art! Thanks for stopping by.

  7. jgh said, on June 30, 2009 at 9:34 AM

    What a great thing to have – this post is a keeper! I’d like to save more seeds this year. I still have some scarlet runner and purple hyacinth bean saved from last year – way more than i need. (Let me know if you’re interested!)

    Thank you, Jen. I think I planted a couple purple seeds who knows if I”ll get seed. I have some Kniola’s Black Morning Glory seeds. Let me know if you want to trade, I might have other stuff, too, my seed stash is ginormous, mostly vegetables.

  8. VP said, on June 30, 2009 at 5:52 PM

    That’s a great idea – seed saving season’s starting over here too 🙂

    Thanks, VP. Enjoy!

  9. jerme said, on May 2, 2010 at 10:12 PM

    Great post and information! Thanks for it! Can I link your post on my blog at

    http://mysquareearth.wordpress.com/

    Thanks!

    Great blog, jerme. You’re more than welcome to link to it, I would be flattered!

  10. percetakan said, on December 27, 2010 at 8:22 AM

    wow, thanks for your envelopes pdf files
    I really need that.


Leave a Reply

