Worms and Flowers

FGU #5

Posted in Friday Garden Update by Lzyjo on June 26, 2009

It’s been two weeks since the last Friday Garden Update and a lot has changed. I’ll start with the good news. The sunflowers are at least eight feet tall. I keep meaning to bring the tape measure along, but always forget when it’s time. The total harvest stands at 45.36. Half of that, 21.98, is from zucchini, which still costs the out of season price of 1.49 a pound, making all of the zucchinis so far worth 50% more than the later in-season ones. We are still a little more than $36 in the red.

Photobucket

These are Mammoth sunflowers bred for their large edible seeds.

Photobucket

I love driving around and looking at all the large country gardens scattered along the roadside, there are some gorgeous ones, lush squash bushes, tasseling corn, but even DH commented that no one has sunflowers as big as mine.

Photobucket

The lemon queen sunflowers for the Great Sunflower Project have a ton of buds, but no flowers yet.

Photobucket

Golden Bantam Improved is tasseling and forming lots of ears, even the suckers, or whatever you want to call them, have ears. Instead of the typical one or two ears per stalk, these have three or four ears, only time will tell if they will fully develop. The few remaining Stowell’s Evergeen are tasseling and the the Silver Queens are on the way.

Photobucket

The silks are turning brown I have a feeling we’ll be eating corn in a week or two!!!

Photobucket

We are just about overwhelmed with zucchini. There is leftover zucchini casserole in the fridge and nine more zucchinis sitting on top of the fridge waiting to be used. Oy!

Photobucket

The butternuts are slowly loosing their greenish stripes becoming more white. Eventually their signature creamy tan color will emerge.

Photobucket

One of my favorites the delicious acorn squash is doing very well, just beginning to ripen.

Photobucket

We already harvested the first two cucumbers and there are more on the way. Right in step with the Obamas who are probably in the same zone we are.

Photobucket

There are a lot of green tomatoes, but no red ones….yet.

Photobucket

Sugarbaby watermelon getting bigger everyday.

Photobucket

The first Charentais melon, which DH already informed me he won’t be eating.

Photobucket

The sweet peas are hanging in there with the constantly dry 95 degrees days. It is becoming more and more apparent that these are not Cupani’s. The flowers tauted as extremely fragrant are far from it. Even a bouquet in a small room gives no scent. The sweet peas fragrance is only there if you stick your nose directly up to the flower. Not what I imaged from the description.

The bad news comes mainly from the potatoes, which are mostly out of the ground. Total Dissopointment pretty much sums it up. Due to the severe and repeated flooding in April, most of the potatoes never got a foothold. Only seven plants of 5 lbs of seed potatoes reached full size. Instead of exponential returns, I barely surpased the total amout of seed potatoes planted. The flooding was bad enough, but then the dense water rententive clay dried, forming, literally, six inch thick clay bricks on the surface, that when smashed on to the ground didn’t even break, believe me it was a lot of work trying to bust those clods up!

The good news about the potatoes being gone is there is a new patch of space available, after weeding of course, but I can plant whatever I want. Not sure if it’s going to be more corn, zucchinis, tomatoes, or all three!

Happy Weekend Gardening Everyone!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jen said, on June 26, 2009 at 12:18 PM

    Wow – those mammoth sunflowers are amazing! I just planted some – hope they get that big! Your veggies look amazing, too. How funny that half of your take is from zucchini. Sorry about the potatoes, but like you said – makes room for more plantings!

    Thanks. I hope yours get huge too. They grow really fast. I was surprised at the totals too! I love Excel! Very handy! I’m pretty much over the potatoes! Onto better things!

  2. Gail said, on June 26, 2009 at 1:12 PM

    I love the tally you are keeping! The sunflowers are wonderful…are the birds waiting in anticipation in the hedgerows? gail

    Thank you, Gail, the tally has proved interesting already. Excel does all the work so all I have to do is find out how much everything costs. I think they just duck inside the barn and wait until I leave. 😉

  3. mia said, on June 26, 2009 at 5:12 PM

    I came to click your name at Katarinas” Roses and stuff”. Offss… I hate to think of the poorly state of my so called sweetcorn. The plants are just a little bit over the ground. That´s Norway. Corn – No way.. Enjoy your weekend.

    I always have bad luck with corn, it seems like every year only 50 or 75% of them come up making the garden look pretty goofy, this year has been better than years past. In most of the U.S. they say “knee high by the 4th of July.” It will catch up, don’t despair, you will have a delicious harvest! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Faith said, on June 26, 2009 at 11:04 PM

    My potatoes didn’t do so well either. We have the same trouble with our soil. The seeds are having a hard time getting through it.

    I didn’t plant any seed sunflowers, just ones for the cutting garden. We used to grow big patches of those mammoths. I didn’t enjoy getting the seeds out though. OUch!

    I have Golden Bantam corn planted as well. It is certainly growing better than the hybrid corn we planted. We’ll see how edible it is. That’s for seed if financial situatiions should go completely kaput.

    Great pics! I love seeing your updates. Your garden is ahead of mine. 🙂

    ~Faith


    Thank you Faith, I’m going to put to together a slide show or collage with them at the end of the season. I know your zucchini are ahead of mine, I saw all those piled up in your kitchen! I grew The Bantam because of disastrous results with hybrids, they all got corn ear, becuase I suppose they are “designed’ to be used with serious applications of pesticides. Seem to better having better results, so far, only had 25 seeds to start with so, I wish I had more.

  5. Dave said, on June 27, 2009 at 8:29 AM

    Those are some great big sunflowers! We have one giant that volunteered in the vegetable garden this year. No blooms have opened yet but it stands at least 2 feet taller than I do. Being overwhelmed with zucchini is a good problem to have!

    We’ve been looking forward to the zucchini deluge since it stopped last year and now it’s here and we don’t know what to do! I have some volunteer sunflowers in the garden, they are maybe 1 or 2 feet tall, they are total midgets! Ah, genetics!

  6. tina said, on June 27, 2009 at 8:47 AM

    Gosh your garden is awesome! I planted Mammoth and do you know they were a Mammoth failure? Not one came up. Can you send me some of yours:) The veggies look yummy.

    Mammoth failure. LOL! Mine look better than last year’s, which couldn’t hold themselves up!


Leave a Reply

