Worms and Flowers

Friday Garden Update #4

Posted in Friday Garden Update by Lzyjo on June 12, 2009

As of this Friday the harvest total stands at $13.96. Below is a snap shot of what we’ve been harvesting. Baby spinach, lettuces Kentucky Limestone and Merveille des Quatre Saisons, zucchini, and some herbs, including my first ever lavender harvest!

Photobucket

The sunflowers are huger-er. They are at least as tall as I can reach with my arm fully extended over my head. Just beginning to see signs of flower heads.

Photobucket

The corn has been twisted and toppled in the storms, I attempted to hill them up for support, but they’re all tilting.

Photobucket

The tassels are showing on the first planted ‘Golden Bantam Improved’ corn.

Photobucket

The tomatoes are doing well most of them are flowering. The potatoes are almost done. I’m still haven’t made up my mind if I’m doing a summer planting. Not sure it’s cost-effective.

Photobucket

The nineteen-pepper patch. Will we pick a peck of peppers? Probably not, at least not a peck of pickled peppers, but I did pick the first hot pepper this week!

Photobucket

The squash and melons are all taking off, butternut, front right, and Charentais front left, both have flowers or buds.

Photobucket

It also rained two nights in a row, the effects should be kicking in!

Photobucket

Dwarf Grey and Blauschokkers maturing for seed.

Photobucket

My favorite morning glory the luscious purple Kniola’s Black is blooming. Gorgeous!

Photobucket And the sweet peas are finally blooming. I have a suspicion that these are Matucana, rather than Cupani’s, as advertised, but who really knows anymore!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Millie said, on June 12, 2009 at 10:23 AM

    Your gardens look great. Enjoy the bounty.

  2. Jen said, on June 12, 2009 at 12:42 PM

    Everything looks delicious and colorful. Looks like you’re going to have some gorgeous sunflowers! Spectacular peas and Morning Glories! I’m growing the glories for the first time this year. They’re such fast growers – really fun! I agree that the color of the black one is really special.

    I can’t wait for the sunflowers flower! They are the huge edible type. I love morning glories! Last year birds, rabbits, or both ate the vine down to a nub, this year I’ve one upped them, the lower stem is entirely fenced with hardware cloth and chicken wire.

  3. Darla said, on June 12, 2009 at 2:18 PM

    Looks very good!! Jealous of your veggies……sigh….Morning Glory is a glorious color!

    You’re jealous of my veggies?! Well, I’m jealous of your gorgeous flowers!

  4. tina said, on June 12, 2009 at 3:38 PM

    Wow on the veggies and the black morning glories!

    Thank you, Tina, that makes me feel good, even though there are many gardeners more talented than I am.

  5. Gururaj said, on June 12, 2009 at 4:04 PM

    Love the morning glories. Are Blauschokkers beans? I have had the experience of growing corn in the past and have had an entire row topple over because of a typhoon. I suggest that you tie them up to solid supports. They topple over easily in the presence of a strong wind, especially if the roots have not fixed solidly in the soil. All the best.

    Hi Gururaj, the blauschokkers are shelling peas meant to be shelled, dried and used for soup. They were originally grown by Capucin monks in the Netherlands. The wind always blows so strong in my garden, it is at the top of a hill! I will try tying them to some stakes for something. Thanks for the tip!

  6. Lzyjo said, on June 13, 2009 at 8:06 AM

    Thank you, we will! Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Faith said, on June 15, 2009 at 7:07 AM

    My corn keeps falling over too. But something is chewing the roots off. I’m guessing voles, but not sure.

    Getting in our first harvests feels so good. LOL

    ~Faith

  8. Lzyjo said, on June 15, 2009 at 7:23 AM

    I’m so sorry about the voles. I have just terrible luck with corn. We have moles, or voles, or whatever they are, too, I hope it’s not them undermining my corn plants!

  9. gail said, on June 15, 2009 at 9:54 AM

    I wonder how long it really takes before the investment in a vegetable garden starts to financially payoff. They immediately payoff in generally good feelings, etc. I bring this up as I contemplate the need to take a tree or two down, build a raised bed, haul in the soil in order to have a vegetable garden! Btw, yours looks really good! gail

    Thank you, Gail. Tree removal can get pricey pretty quickly. I imagine it might take a while for a garden to pay that one off. Right now, for just this year we’re at least $80 in the hole, that includes two new hoses. I feel like I’ve put in a lot of work, but the rewards are just starting to come in. I’m almost up to $20 total harvest, so I know I will be in the black sometime this summer!!

  10. writeandcreate said, on June 16, 2009 at 12:52 AM

    You’re garden is full of promise. May not be saving you a lot yet, but the taste must be mighty. Love that Morning Glory. I’ve never seen one that colour. I’ll have to have a look and see if we get it here.

    Thank you, Brigit. I think it’s worth it. It’s also good exercise! Grandpa Ott’s is also similar, though not as dark purple and Star of Yelta is also a very pretty Ipomoea purpurea type. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

