Worms and Flowers

FGU #3 Squash Bug. It’s a Noun and a Verb!

Posted in Friday Garden Update by Lzyjo on June 5, 2009

It’s Friday and time for another Garden Update. This week the garden has really turned a corner.

Photobucket

The corn is growing up. The first planted rows are starting to show tassels.

Photobucket

There are tiny green tomatoes on the tomato plants.

Photobucket

The squash plants are huge. This flower is bigger than my hand!

Photobucket

And, a sure-sign it’s summer, I squashed the first squash bugs on the zucchini plants and I also squashed the first squash bug eggs! Arrrrg!!!

Photobucket

This week the sunflowers have beat my prediction. The tallest ones are now about as tall as I am!

Photobucket

The first cucumber flowers are starting to open. I’m not Miss. Cleo, but there may be pickles in our near future!!

Photobucket

The winter squash and melon vines are starting to branch out. This is Waltham Butternut.

Photobucket

And Charentais. I have a strange feeling that I may have planted another Butternut here instead of Charentais. O well. I think the other hill has a couple.

Photobucket

Our pepper patch is doing great, I did a head count from the photo and I think there are 18 plants. Enough already!

Photobucket

This week also brought the first, much anticipated, harvest of new potatoes. The yellow ones are Charlotte, quite delicious, and the beautiful pink ones are Huckleberry. I was a little disappointed that the Huckleberries didn’t have the beautiful colored flesh like the seed potatoes did, perhaps it’s because of the climate, or because they are new potatoes. They were delicious nonetheless.

Photobucket

The harvest of two pounds of new potatoes brought my total harvest to a whopping $6.55!

Tagged with: ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Faith said, on June 5, 2009 at 10:10 AM

    Oh my goodness! Your garden is so far ahead of mine! Are you in a warmer zone? I’m 6b.

    It looks amazing! I can taste those buttered potatoes now. 🙂

    Great job!

    ~Faith

  2. Lzyjo said, on June 5, 2009 at 11:22 AM

    It great when all the hard work finally starting paying off! Some consider this Zone 6b, but I’ve never seen it go anywhere close to below zero. I think 7 Zone is a more accurate representation of my area.

  3. Daphne Gould said, on June 5, 2009 at 2:38 PM

    Your garden is mostly ahead of mine too. My tomatoes and peppers are probably close to yours, but then I put them out way early this year. My squash and cucumbers have just germinated. My one sunflower is about 6″ tall. The corn is only a foot. It has been fairly cold around here recently. I’m hoping it warms up and we get into the high 79s fro a while, but it doesn’t look likely.

  4. Lzyjo said, on June 6, 2009 at 7:02 AM

    I am surprised to hear you say that I am ahead of you! I can’t believe my scrawny transplants made it! It’s the hot humid weather and all the rain that is making everything grow crazy!

  5. tina said, on June 6, 2009 at 7:30 AM

    Your garden looks so bountiful. Lots of fresh veggies soon-very soon!

  6. Lzyjo said, on June 6, 2009 at 11:31 AM

    Thank you, Tina. There are going to be tons of zucchini soon and it won’t stop!

  7. Jen said, on June 6, 2009 at 3:04 PM

    Wow – beautiful stuff! I could eat that zucchini right now!! Gorgeous potatoes, too. Hey, how do you keep pests out of your corn?

  8. Lzyjo said, on June 7, 2009 at 6:02 AM

    Aww, thank you, Jen! Doesn’t that zucchini look good! I’m looking forward to lots of them. What pests do you mean, Jen? I really haven’t had a problem with raccoons, but last year I lost a lot of corn to the corn ear worm. Hopefully the varieties this year have tighter silks and husks at the tip to prevent the worms from finding their way in.

  9. Katarina said, on June 7, 2009 at 2:40 PM

    Wow – you seem to be getting big crops!
    Katarina

  10. writeandcreate said, on June 8, 2009 at 6:04 AM

    I haven’t had a vegie patch in a few years. We are on tank water, and went through a drought. But, wow I’m longing for one now. It will mean starting from scratch. We’ve just entered winter. Time to start planning.

  11. Lzyjo said, on June 8, 2009 at 6:28 AM

    $6 is hardly big, lol, but it’s is enough to plan meals around! Thanks for stopping by, Katarina.

  12. Lzyjo said, on June 8, 2009 at 6:35 AM

    Perfect time to start planning! Tank water…sounds like you have an excuse to get some rain barrels! Good luck! If you decide to grown a garden it’s well worth it!


Leave a Reply

