Worms and Flowers

Bye-Bye Mr. Tree

Posted in Garden by Lzyjo on June 4, 2009

This week brought a huge change to the front yard. The towering Mr. Silver Maple was cut down by the electric company. The tree, which took many decades to grow, was cut down and chipped in a matter of hours. This is what is left.

Photobucket

Here is a photo from last fall showing the two trees that used to grace the yard. I’m not sad to see it go, in fact,  is has totally changed the exposure of the front flower beds. In the front of the house there are two flower beds separated by the front steps, one wraps around the westerly-exposed porch to the south side of the house, most things that I want to flower need to be planted in that area where get at least some sun. Up until now, the other flower bed closer to the North side of the porch has been so shaded that I  haven’t filled it in. Maybe it’s a blessing in disguise, that I never planted shade-loving plants in that area, because now the shade is gone.

Photobucket

Now I have a whole new area with some empty ground. I can almost feel a shopping spree coming on!

Tagged with: , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Faith said, on June 4, 2009 at 8:11 AM

    Whew! That’s really a BIG change! I’m glad you are OK with it. I might go into brief mourning over something like that. LOL

    On to new flower bed adventures!

    ~Faith

  2. Lzyjo said, on June 4, 2009 at 8:55 AM

    Yeah, I was really surprised. The tree cutter had a run-in with our landlord and remembered the place from 10 years ago! So they just took the whole tree instead of cutting it and then trying to shape it to please the landlord. OY!!!

    I have more space!!

  3. Jen said, on June 4, 2009 at 4:20 PM

    Like you, I’d be grateful for an extra patch of sun in my yard – we have so many trees. So what are you gonna plant???!

  4. Lzyjo said, on June 5, 2009 at 6:46 AM

    It also means fewer leaves to rake!! I have no idea what will be going there. I had been thinking of monkshoods, lupine and foxgloves, but that won’t work now. Maybe a climber! I need some height other there.

  5. Gail said, on June 5, 2009 at 6:56 AM

    I was going to say the same think Lzyjo, less leaves! What about a arbor gate covered with climbing roses and clematis? gail

  6. Lzyjo said, on June 5, 2009 at 9:48 AM

    I think you must have read my mind, Gail! I was totally picturing a clematis climbing up the porch pillars!! Ouu!! I’m getting excited!


Leave a Reply

