Worms and Flowers

Rocky and Red

Posted in Garden by Lzyjo on June 2, 2009

Rocky and Red are our oldest plants. We got them in 2006 on our belated honeymoon in Denver where we spent the week biking and sightseeing.

Photobucket

I, of course, got a flat tire while driving through downtown. To get back to the rental shop, I had to bike as fast as I could until the tire would go flat and then wait for DH to catch up and pump my tire. Oh, it was very memorable. Anyway, we visited the Red Rocks Park and Amphitheater in the foothills during the trip. We got to see lots of perfectly tame mule deer. We just stopped the car on the road and took pictures as we watched them eating. We also got great pictures of the red rocks, unfortunately they’re on another computer that’s not hooked up. I’ll see if I can’t find them.

On one of the trails around the red rocks we found Rocky and Red growing. They were two small prickly pear plants, hardly bigger than a thumb, they had two or three tiny paddles each. We grabbed them, like you’re not supposed to do, and took them to the car. They rode back in our luggage packed in a 7-11 coffee cup and now they are huge and flowering.

Photobucket

Cactus flowers always surprise me, they are delicate and graceful, much the opposite of the their prickly spines.

Photobucket

The flower totally closed up after one day. I’m hoping some pucky bee pollinated. Maybe we’ll be seeing tunas this year!

Tagged with:

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gail said, on June 2, 2009 at 11:18 AM

    Honeymoons are supposed to be memorable! I love Rocky and Red and you had to rescue them from the trail! gail

  2. Lzyjo said, on June 2, 2009 at 12:05 PM

    It was very memorable. I can laugh about the flat now. I think Rocky and Red really like their new home. They’ve grown wonderfully for us.

  3. Jen said, on June 2, 2009 at 11:07 PM

    That’s pretty funny that your honeymoon plant was a prickly pear! I hope it’s not a comment on the nature of your marriage 😉 The story of how you got them is romantic, though. May the flower of your love continue to bloom!!!

  4. ourfriendben said, on June 3, 2009 at 5:57 AM

    How wonderful, Lzyjo! Cacti!!! My very first plants werer also cacti, which i got in sixth grade and made into a dish garden. i’ve never been without cacti since, but it never occurred to me to name them 9or any plants, for that matter!). Shame on me!!!

  5. Lzyjo said, on June 3, 2009 at 7:32 AM

    LOL!I suppose we both can be prickly, but it’s mostly other people who make us mad, not each other! It was really romantic and memorable and now they are unexpectedly blooming!

  6. Lzyjo said, on June 3, 2009 at 7:36 AM

    It was really DH who named them and took care of them, I really shouldn’t take the credit. A cacti dish garden! Maybe I’m the one who should be ashamed! I am a huge cacti fan, I guess I probably goes back to bumming around the cacti section in the greenhouse looking at all the funky shapes.


Leave a Reply

