Worms and Flowers

100th Post Giveaway!

Posted in Blog, Giveaway by Lzyjo on June 1, 2009

Can you believe I made it?! I can’t either! It’s all thanks to the wonderful commenters and readers who kept me going. Now it’s time for me to give back to you.

I made this quilt specially for you all during the beginning of May when the Irises were still blooming. I sat on the front steps , sketched my irises, and then made it into this quilt intended as a giveaway for my dear readers. It was so hard to keep a secret!

The quilt measures approximately 8.25″ wide by 10.5″  long. 20.96 cm x 26.67 cm. It is made from cotton fabric, cotton batting, and nylon interfacing. There is a sleeve on the back for hanging on your wall. I regret that I cannot include a hanging rod.

Photobucket

Here are the rules.

Leave a comment on this post within the next seven days.

Please fill in the email address field so I can contact you if you win.

Next Monday RANDOM.ORG will select a random integer as the winner based on the comment order. (No picking favorites!!)

I will ship the wall hanging by U.S. Priority Mail, within the U.S., or by Priority Mail International to Canada, Europe, or the rest of the world.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ourfriendben said, on June 1, 2009 at 8:08 AM

    Oh geez, lzyjo, what a fabulous wall hanging! Who doesn’t love iris?! And that is SO beautiful!!! What a privilege for anyone to win. (I hope you’ve signed and dated it, and taken a photo for your own archives.) I like the neutral selector concept. (Me, I’d of course want to turn it into a quiz of some kind, but that would be more because I love coming up with the questions than trying to force folks to jump through hoops for the answers.) Anyway, thanks for your generosity, and thanks for sharing it with us so no matter who wins, we’ll all have had a chance to enjoy your beautiful creation!

    I’m glad you think everyone loves irises too. I chose it , in part because it is such a well loved flower. This one came out much better than the first one I made in February. My maternal grandparents have that one…

    Oops, sheesh, I’m just not with it this morning (up too early with Shiloh, I guess). CONGRATULATIONS on your 100th post!!! Now I guess I’ll have to go and see where we are post-wise. I know it’s over 500 (we have such big mouths we just can’t stop posting), but I’m so fixated on hitting 100,000 views that I’ve neglected all the other stats. I think we’ll get there in July, so I’d better start working on a giveaway or something for the big day or it will be a big letdown. Thanks for the reminder!

    Thank you for the complements and congratulations. I think I may have reached 100 earlier, but my blog got abridged in the transition to WordPress. I love seeing the hits creeping up! I think it’s a big deal when I break every thousand, but 100,000 is HUGE! I thought about a quiz, but I didn’t bother to come up with enough questions. Everybody could have won!

    I’ve often envied your blogging triumvirate. It must be great fun to have Friday Night Supper Club and sit around braining storming for posts. I know it is not just the multiple contributors mostly you and Silence are the most prolific. In Google reader it’s incredible to see how many posts you have, by date, just in a month or two!

    I’ve been waiting a long time for something garden related that I could make for a giveaway and finally I’ve have it.

  2. tina said, on June 1, 2009 at 8:33 AM

    I’m on vacation but wanted to be sure I did not forget to comment on this post. Happy 100th!!

    Thank you, Tina! Happy Vacation! Hope your having a great time!

  3. Gururaj said, on June 1, 2009 at 4:45 PM

    Hey! That’s a lovely gift. I am also off to Malaysia on a short vacation, but I’m glad I checked your blog and made a last-minute comment! 🙂 By the way, I found the mystery plant I mentioned in my blog – it was Saxifraga stolonifera. Happy gardening and happy quiliting!

    Hi Gururaj, I’m glad you stopped by too. The saxifraga is really pretty, I love the leaves and the flowers. I’ll look for some on eBay. Have a great vacation in Malaysia! Will you be taking pictures for us? I would to see some tropical fruits in the markets.

  4. Lola said, on June 1, 2009 at 9:25 PM

    Congratulations. That is a beautiful quilt. Iris are my home state’s flower & I love them. In fact I just this Spring fixed an Iris garden. Royal Thunder was my first bloom.

    Thank you, Lola. I think you state my a good choice. I love irises and have very fond memories of iris gardens at botanical gardens. I’m sure yours is beautiful!

  5. Elaine R said, on June 1, 2009 at 10:16 PM

    What beautiful quilting! I love irises and in fact have blue irises like this in my front flowerbed.

    Thank you, Elaine. I love irises too. Too bad they have such a short bloom time this way they any be immortalized on the wall.

  6. gail said, on June 2, 2009 at 11:22 AM

    Just saw this post when I was commenting on the latest… It’s a lovely hanging and I am visualizing where it will go …are you listening universe;) Congrats on the 100th post! I am glad you stuck around~~gail

    LOL! Maybe the universe is listening. Your funky birdhouses have been on my mind. You never know when a quilt might make itself. Thank you for the complements and congratulations. I’m glad I hung in there too, Gail. I missed you all during my break.

  7. Jen said, on June 2, 2009 at 11:10 PM

    My bedroom is purple. I’m just sayin’ is all.

    Congrats on your 100th post and looking forward to hundreds more!

    Maybe it’s a cosmic message! Thank you for the congratulations! I am look forward to the next 100 also!

  8. Blossom said, on June 3, 2009 at 10:12 AM

    (OMG! I gave you the wrong link! It’s my other blog and it’s in the Malay language – you will understand only a little bit of it. So sorry for that but here’s the correct link.)

    Ohh .. I love giveaways. They cheer me up especially if I win. LOL. That iris is pretty especially if hanged on MY wall. Hmmm …. Thanks for the chance and may you have another 100 post, and another giveaway, soon ….

    Don’t worry about it! Hopefully there will be another giveaway soon! If I manage to keep up daily posts it might actually happen! Thanks for stopping by.

  9. Stephanie Reed said, on June 3, 2009 at 10:47 AM

    Happy 100th post! I love irises, but I have had no luck growing them. What a nice way to have them around all year long!

    stef dot reed at gmail dot com

    Thank you, Stef, What a nice way to put it. Sorry you don’t have luck growing irises. Fake flowers and art depicting flowers are a great way to enjoy them without getting your hands dirty. Thanks for stopping by.

  10. Sue Cahill said, on June 3, 2009 at 1:53 PM

    What alovely little quilt and how lovely you are to share it with us. I am so jealous of your obvoius artistic talent, I can’t even draw a decent stick figure!

    Sue Cahill (sbonetsue at yahoo dot com)

    Thank you very much, Sue. I hate to say it, but practice makes perfect.

  11. writeandcreate said, on June 8, 2009 at 5:58 AM

    Thanks for the offer of joining the give away. To have something as special as that hanging would be awesome. You are extremely talented…as a gardener as well.

    I’m glad you decided to enter the giveway, Brigit! Thank you for the complements.

  12. Jennifer Blanton said, on June 9, 2009 at 9:13 PM

    Irises are my favorite flower- love them. THis is very pretty you did a great job.
    thanks for the chance to win


Comments are closed.

