Worms and Flowers

Where Have I Been?

Posted in Blog by Lzyjo on May 31, 2009

Dear Readers, you are due an apology for my prolonged absence and lack of posts this winter. I had a lot of excuses that I told myself. Everything’s dead. Nothing has leaves. Everything looks like crap. But that is not the total truth. Something is always going on in the worm bin and there are other things to talk about in the winter like pouring over catalogs and buying for next year.

The truth is I was most busy with my new venture obsession making quilts. Below is my second quilt, a sampler, which I made for my MIL and her husband.

Photobucket

I started with traditionals, making more and more complicated ones like this geometric Escher-esque pattern made from half  hexagons.

Photobucket

As you can see, I quickly got bored with that stuff and ended up with something like this.

Photobucket

In January I started my Etsy shop. Since then I have added a lot of items, mostly wall hangings and art quilts, to my Etsy shop and my QuiltFinger blog. I also have them for sale on eBay. Sales have been far from predictable, or substantial, but I make quilts because I enjoy it. I hope you can tell how much fun I had making them.

I didn’t forget about you all during my long break and I am very grateful to everyone who continues to subscribe and visit my blog since my long dip off the radar. I’m am going to try harder this time, I promise!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jen said, on May 31, 2009 at 8:33 AM

    Ah, so that’s where you were all winter. I’ll have to go check out the quilt blog and shop! These are just beautiful!!! And so different -looks like you can move from style to style wiith no problem whatsover! I saved some of my kids’ clothes from when they were babies, thinking I’d make them into a quilt someday. Might have to wait for retirement, the way things are going.

  2. Lzyjo said, on May 31, 2009 at 10:58 AM

    Thank you, Jen. Yes., I was in my studio almost the whole winter. Sorry. I did feel bad for neglecting the blog. As you saw, I’m having a little trouble finding a style. Just trying out different techniques. It’s hard to find time to quilt, usually it means neglecting other things like cleaning, or blogging.

  3. ourfriendben said, on May 31, 2009 at 5:01 PM

    WOW!!! That guitar/travel quilt is just awesome!!!!

  4. Lzyjo said, on June 1, 2009 at 6:29 AM

    Thank you, OFB, I had a lot of fun making the guitar quilts under the influence of rock and roll music.

  5. Faith said, on June 1, 2009 at 6:29 AM

    Wow! This is a NEW obsession?

    Amazing work. I have a couple of friends who are into quilting and I so admire what they do.

    I was at an art show, supporting a young college friend of ours with his graphic art display, and the girl next door was doing hers of texticles….. a quilt display.

    Every single one of her quilts was depicting some form of giant squid…….

    I didn’t get it. LOL

    ~Faith

  6. Lzyjo said, on June 1, 2009 at 7:21 AM

    LOL! Relatively! I think there is a whole cult of art quilters who are inspired by marine biology, Judy Coates Perez has some fantastic painted underwater scenes, I’ve also seen more scientific ones like diatoms from an art quilter and professor of marine biology. Some stuff is really out there, like one woman who saves candy wrappers and other garbaggy items for art quilts. Made there is just nothing to “get.”

  7. writeandcreate said, on June 3, 2009 at 8:55 AM

    Wow, your quilts are stunning…and your persistence and patience doing them, amazing.

    Brigit
    http://hotmiddlescence.com

  8. Lzyjo said, on June 3, 2009 at 9:14 AM

    Thank you, Brigit. It is a real passion, it hardy seems like work. Feel free to enter my giveaway if you’re interested. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

