Worms and Flowers

New Toys

Posted in Garden by Lzyjo on May 30, 2009

This week has been like Gardening Christmas for me. At the beginning of the week DH surprised me with new toys for gardening, including Sloggers garden clogs. I love shoes that slip on and off!

Photobucket

An uber-cool fold-up sun hat. How cool is that?! The wire just kind of coils itself back up!

Photobucket

And my very favorite the cute garden cart, which has already saved me hundred of trips to the shed for tool after tool. All from the local Target. The cart was actually the display model and the last one they had in stock. Must be a popular item. My favorite feature is the pop-out foam kneeling pad. My muddy-kneed jeans and my knees love it. It even has a tow strap!

Photobucket

You can also sit on it  and it fits a lot of stuff. It doesn’t fit the big hedge trimmer, but it does fit the loppers, the smaller scissor trimmer, and all the other tools and accessories I used to go back and forth to get.

Photobucket

I got to try out all of my new toys after the order from Brent and Becky’s arrived. I have a terrible habit of checking the Garden Watchdog, only after I have already placed the order. When I did check Garden Watchdog I was blown-away by the excellent feedback. After receiving my order, I can confirm that Brent and Becky do deserve their Top 30 Rating. They even sent along a culture brochure with detailed planting instructions for all of the bulbs they sell. Check out these fat Star Gazer Lily bulbs for $1 each. Beautiful! Everything was freshly packed and I just love the ingenious tag/plant markers with names printed on! How come no one else thought of that?

Photobucket

What have you bought, or been gifted, for the garden lately?

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ourfriendben said, on May 30, 2009 at 8:14 AM

    Those clogs and the garden cart look great, lzyjo! And of course i enthusiastically support Brent and Becky. But I cannot believe that you’re putting dirty bulbs on your cutting mat. Gasp!!! Blasphemy! Whatever happened to newspaper?!!

  2. Lzyjo said, on May 30, 2009 at 9:17 AM

    LOL and Waste precious papier mache material for bulbs. That is blasphemy! Cutting mats are totally washable and since mine was splattered with mache paste, it was due for a cleaning. I use the mat so much that it has stopped self-healing.

    I love Brent and Becky’s I will definitely be buying from them again!! I can’t image how gorgeous their 10-acre farm is!It is great that they are in Virginia too. They shipped on Wednesday and I got the package on Friday. I try to refrain from purchasing things through the mail that have to come all the way across the country. I think DH made wonderful choices, I love the blue-greens and olives.

  3. Daphne Gould said, on May 30, 2009 at 10:13 AM

    Everyone needs a great garden hat. I use mine for everything, hiking, traveling, and gardening. It isn’t quite the same as yours, but it is nylon and can be washed and can be scrunched up in my backpack. Your cart looks great. I’m guessing that is the last time it will be so clean. Garden carts deserve to be well used and covered in dirt. ;>

    What do you use the hardware cloth for?

  4. Faith said, on May 30, 2009 at 11:06 AM

    Loving your fold up garden hat. I have to wear a hat to keep the gnats from my face, it helps a little.

    I keep imagining that if I had a dark hat with a 12″ brim I might be even better off. I also wonder if I invented a harness that had an umbrella holder in the back, how well they’d sell. LOL But then again, no one has as many gnats as we do on our place!

    ~Faith

  5. tina said, on May 30, 2009 at 2:40 PM

    What nice gifts! I hope you got the stargazers planted in your new clogs and using your handy cart. Sure makes things go faster.

  6. Lzyjo said, on May 30, 2009 at 3:20 PM

    I love the hat. I am fair skinned and my face really burns. Your hat sounds great! I love things that fold up. Your so right about the cart, I envision it dirt encrusted. DH suggested I customize it with stickers and graffiti. Only when it is dirty enough will I really feel like it is my cart. I use the hardware cloth under the ground to prevent voles/moles from eating the bulbs. Envision hardware cloth troughs, or bottomless mesh pots.

  7. Lzyjo said, on May 30, 2009 at 3:24 PM

    OMG, Faith, the chiggers and mosquitoes have been biting me so bad, I feel like I should start using off! every time I go outside. Where do you buy those bee keeper suits!

  8. Lzyjo said, on May 30, 2009 at 3:27 PM

    No wonder I love DH so much, he spoils me! I got to try out all the new toys, it was really fun! The cart made a huge difference! I love it!

  9. Angie said, on June 3, 2010 at 6:51 PM

    Hi

    I love the fold up hat. Can you tell me what brand it is and where you got it from? I’d really appreciate any info you have on it so i can get one myself.

    Thanks

  10. Lzyjo said, on April 29, 2011 at 9:16 AM

    Hello Angie, i got my hat at my local Target store. I know they have Targets in Australia too. I would imagine almost any department store or big box store would have them! Hope this helps you.


Leave a Reply

