Worms and Flowers

Friday Garden Update #2

Posted in Friday Garden Update by Lzyjo on May 29, 2009

I’ll start with the good news. This week we harvested our first salad, somewhat delayed by temperamental seedlings that went and died on me. We ate it before I could take pictures, but the Kentucky Limestone Bibb Lettuce and Merveille de Quatre Saisons were both wonderful. We also had our first substantial harvest of both kinds of peas that were made into delicious peas pulao and aloo tikkis. Both recipes can be found on the same charming blog, Dil Se… We’ve had great success with Divya’s recipes, both Indian and Western.

Photobucket

All I can say about the Blauschokkers, is WOW! There is nothing puny about these peas, they are monstrous. I can’t wait until autumm for pea soup made with these! Although the Blauschokkers, advertised to grow to 6 ft, are the same height as the Dwarf Grey their yields so far have been very good, the pods are enormous and filled the many large peas. I was surprised to see that my fingers were stained pleasantly purple after shelling a bunch of these.

Photobucket

After a few nights of rain showers, the zucchinis are really getting big! This one is already taking up part of the path.

Photobucket

Uh, oh, male and female flower buds ready to go. Let the onslaught begin! I am bracing myself.

Photobucket

This is the squash that had a snapped stem last week. When I went out to  replant the hill, which I did, I noticed the new growth was still green, so I mouned up some earth around it to support the flimsy broken stem and it seems to be growing. I’ll see what happens.

Photobucket

The peppers are finally making strides, with the biggest ones starting to bud. I think these were somewhat held back by the flooding and cool weather.

Photobucket

The tomato plants are also coming along, looking bushier all the time. Note to self, obay rules of crop rotation and companion planting. These toms are planted next to the potatoes and are suffering from infestations of Colorado Potato Beetle larvae.

Photobucket

On my morning CPB patrol I was so dismayed to see this snapped stalk on my healthy blue ribbon-worthy potato plant. I tried to earth it up, but I think that portion will die. Now I know where to look for new potatoes first!

Photobucket

Here is the “whole shebang,” so to speak. Some of the corn is 18″ to two feet tall. I had to hill them up because the wind was blowing them sideways. The sunflowers are even bigger this week, about mid chest height, I am predicting shoulder height by next week. Despite my news year resolution to stay ahead of the weeds, they are getting the best of me. I am committing to weeding one block a day until I am caught up, then I will do it again.

I’ve planted string beans at least three times. The beans and the carrots have all been munched to the ground by some hungry critters, leaving me with large patches where the are more weeds than anything else growing. Drat.

Photobucket

To end on a bright note, the first Asiatic liles opened and they are looking gorgeous. It’s funny, the flowers look so bold and red until you look at them next to roses, then the orange-red cast becomes apparent.

TGIF, everyone! Have a wonderful weekend!

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ourfriendben said, on May 29, 2009 at 10:31 AM

    TGIF, so true, lzyjo! I think your garden looks awesome! And, oh yum, peas pulao and aloo tikkis! When we took little Shiloh for a daily outing yesterday, we “somehow” managed to end up at Rice and Spice, the Indian grocery in nearby Emmaus, PA, where I got some of their homemade vegetable samosas and chutney, not to mention paneer to make sag paneer next time I get my hands on baby spinach! They also get the freshest ginger, so of course I had to get a fat, healthy root to plant ourt in the greenhouse with my cardamom and lemongrass. Yum!!!

  2. Lzyjo said, on May 29, 2009 at 1:05 PM

    YUM!!! Samosas are my favorite!! I wish there were more ethnic groceries around here, everything in Nashville seems to be generic Asian. Next time DH goes to Guitar Center he is taking me to the Asian grocery! I wish I could get my grubby paws on some fresh galangal and turmeric to root. Fabulous idea!

    I somehow had a search on my blog for “broken nose and cartilage sticking out!” AaaaaH!


Leave a Reply

