Worms and Flowers

Some Roses

Posted in Flowers by Lzyjo on May 24, 2009

Have you ever recognized the virtue of a plant that has been in your garden for ages, previously unnoticed?

I have long ignored a huge rambling bramble of wild rose bushes and honeysuckle.

It’s practically an eyesore, an unkempt jungle good for nothing more than a rabbit hole.

Last week, after the electric company tagged the bush for trimming, I realized this wasn’t any ordinary wild rose bush, it has plump double flowers stuffed with more petals than can possibly fit.

Photobucket

Have you ever heard to flowers changing color? I thought it was an urban legend, but now it has happened to me. The rose below is on the same bush that previously had small hot pink, verging on magenta, flowers.

Not only is this flower several times larger than the others it is many time more fragrant.

Photobucket

And there are more huge buds on the bush in the second flush of flowers.

Amazing.

How it happened shall remain a mystery and I shall remain thankful to witness these miracles in the garden.

Tagged with: ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Faith said, on May 24, 2009 at 7:00 PM

    Beautiful!

    ~Faith

  2. gail said, on May 25, 2009 at 7:13 AM

    Did they cut the rose bush down or did you rescue it? it is lovely. gail

  3. Lzyjo said, on May 25, 2009 at 10:54 AM

    Thank you!

  4. Lzyjo said, on May 25, 2009 at 10:58 AM

    It is particularly lovely, makes me wonder if it is really wild. It is right under the power line, so the electric company want to trim it form me I guess. They can’t possibly remove the whole thing, it’s too big and thorny. I never even bother trimming it. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Gururaj said, on May 27, 2009 at 3:45 AM

    What a lovely flower! Until now I have avoided buying a rose plant but a friend of mine gave me some roses – and I have decided to grow them. Can you propagate them easily through cuttings? Your roses are really beautiful!

  6. Lzyjo said, on May 27, 2009 at 7:56 AM

    I have a love/hate relationship with roses. Mine have blackspot fungus and I hate spraying with the smelly fungicide all the time. I did a few searches and rose cuttings root about 50% of the time. Experts claim it’s easy.


Leave a Reply

