Worms and Flowers

Epsom Salts for Roses

Posted in Flowers, How To by Lzyjo on May 8, 2009

Back in March I posted about using Epsom Salts as a Plant Supplement. I have had such wonderful results on my rose bushes that I wanted to share this tip with all of you.

Photobucket

My roses bushes are suffering. They are growing in partial shade and one of them is stuffed behind a huge, ugly, smelly boxwood where there is no air circulation. Despite the poor site and continual black-spot infestations, they bushes have managed to put on a spectacular show this spring, at least in part due to the addition of Epsom Salts, as a supplement for the nutrient Magnesium. Magnesium is a key element at the center of chlorophyll molecules.

Photobucket

I use Epsom Salts monthly at a rate of 1 Tsp per gallon. Or 1/4 tsp, ( a pinch) per quart.

Some sources suggest as much as 1/2 Cup per plant, but I live according to Greek philosophy, nothing in excess.

Photobucket

Even the bush in the shadier location in covered with buds (which was not the case in the past). A huge improvement. I recommend it to anyone whose rose bushes are struggling and even if they aren’t it is great supplement to add to your arsenal.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gail said, on May 8, 2009 at 12:02 PM

    Thanks lzyjo for the epsom salt reminder! Speaking of reminders…was I supposed to send you anything! I keep thinking I’ve forgotten someone or something! gail

  2. Darla said, on May 8, 2009 at 12:27 PM

    I have heard of this before, but never actually saw the results. Will be pulling out the salts this afternoon! Thanks!!

  3. Lzyjo said, on May 8, 2009 at 1:22 PM

    It has worked for me many time on many different plants. Economical too, I think everyone one has a box in their medicine cabinet.

  4. Lzyjo said, on May 8, 2009 at 1:24 PM

    Yes, it’s is definitely worth it. I don’t think I remember to fertilize or do Epsom salts, etc., nearly enough. Speaking of forgetting, my brain is like a sieve. Thoughts just, “poof,” go away. Maybe I should start leaving myself memos?

  5. ourfriendben said, on May 8, 2009 at 2:55 PM

    Your roses look fantastic, lzyjo! My poor rugosa albas are doing poorly this year. I too will be getting out the Epsom salts!

  6. tina said, on May 8, 2009 at 2:57 PM

    What a good tip! I need to go add some to my roses now. I just found I have a whole bag.

  7. mothernaturesgarden said, on May 9, 2009 at 2:47 AM

    Thanks for the reminder. Hey, this is something I can do between rainy downpours.
    Donna

  8. Lzyjo said, on May 9, 2009 at 7:38 AM

    Thank you, ofb. They are doing so much better now.
    You may just be surprised! I certainly was.

  9. Lzyjo said, on May 9, 2009 at 7:38 AM

    Good luck!

  10. Lzyjo said, on May 9, 2009 at 7:41 AM

    For sure! Good luck! It seems to make a big difference.

  11. anthromes said, on May 16, 2009 at 12:35 PM

    My brother turned me on to epsom salts when I couldn’t identify a nutrient deficiency in Eugenia victoriana and Dwarf Rollinia trees. Leaves were emerging, only drastically stunted, faded leaf color with darker veins, seedlings never getting any bigger. After applying some epsom salts around the base of the small trees and a few foliar feedings, they resumed normal growth. Epsom salts are also non-chemical, used in their relatively pure, unadulterated form. Also very inexpensive.

  12. Lzyjo said, on May 17, 2009 at 8:34 AM

    Great success story! It’s incredible how fast they can turn around.

  13. Naturalnightdew said, on May 19, 2009 at 2:37 AM

    Greetings and Hi. I also use th Epsom salt for my roses and tomatos and lemon and it does help.

  14. Naturalnightdew said, on May 19, 2009 at 2:38 AM

    and the roses looks sooooo pretty

  15. Lzyjo said, on May 19, 2009 at 8:44 AM

    aawww, thank you. And thanks for stopping by. I will go check out your blog.

  16. Lzyjo said, on May 19, 2009 at 8:45 AM

    Great! I haven’t used it on my tomatoes. I will give it a try. Thanks for the tip!


Leave a Reply

