Worms and Flowers

Flooded

Posted in Garden, Vegetables by Lzyjo on May 3, 2009

During a brief break in the rain, I took the opportunity to take these pictures of the garden. Since Friday we have had over 5″ of rain.

Photobucket

While my flip-flops didn’t work well in the mud, the plants seemed to have enjoyed the past rainy days.

Photobucket

The sunflowers are twice as big as the were when I last saw them.

Photobucket

The corn germination has been terrible. Despite supplemental water the clay soil caked very badly, preventing most of the shoots from emerging.

Photobucket

Cucumber seedlings totally submerged.

Photobucket

Tomatoes with their heads barely above water.

Photobucket

The potato patch has really taken off. They are also about twice as big as they were before all this rain.

Photobucket

The blauschokkers are also noticeably bigger and just beginning to climb the trellis.

Photobucket

The dwarf grey sugar snaps have started flowering. As you can see from the stormy sky, it not done raining. The Camera and I had better take cover!

Tagged with: , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ourfriendben said, on May 3, 2009 at 9:16 AM

    Wow, talk about a water garden! Let me know if the sugar snaps really have grey pods—I’ve always wondered about that name. I’m raising yellow-podded snow peas this year and can’t wait to see them!

  2. Lzyjo said, on May 3, 2009 at 9:24 AM

    The mud was almost up to the top of my mid-calf rain boots after I had the brilliant idea to put on better shoes than flipflops!

    Lucky you! I’ve always loved the look of those Indian yellow-podded peas. They were out of stock when I looked.

    I will let you know if they really are grey.

  3. Patrick said, on May 3, 2009 at 12:15 PM

    Sorry you’re having water problems. It doesn’t look good at all! I hope your plant survive.

    We’re also having water problems, in our case it’s been very hot and dry for weeks now. I guess it’s feast or famine.

    I hope you dry out soon.

  4. tina said, on May 3, 2009 at 1:13 PM

    It has been so so rainy! I don’t ever remember it being so rainy this late before. Hopefully the sun will come out soon and dry your place out.

  5. Wow! Now that is a lot of rain! And I complain that Portland is too wet?

  6. Daphne Gould said, on May 3, 2009 at 4:13 PM

    You have a flood going on there. I hope it dries up just a bit for you or all those plants will drown. I wish I could get a couple of inches right about now. I think I’m going to have to water the garden.

  7. Lzyjo said, on May 3, 2009 at 5:11 PM

    Hi Tessa, Thanks for stopping by. It isn’t usually this wet, infect it’s worst flooding in several years. I would never begrudge anyone, especially someone from the pacific northwest, for complaining about the rain!

  8. Lzyjo said, on May 3, 2009 at 5:12 PM

    I was very surprised when I saw a lake where the garden was! I think everything will be fine. It was very dry just a few weeks ago. I do hope you get some rain.

  9. Lzyjo said, on May 3, 2009 at 5:13 PM

    Yeah, what happened to April showers? I would be worried if it were the house, but everything seems to be loving it.

  10. gail said, on May 4, 2009 at 2:19 PM

    Lzyjo…That is a mess! I am so sorry to see that…We had that much rain, too…with more coming. Yikes! My garden is on a slope and all the rain water has rushed across the street…taking lots of soil and mulch with it! The clay won’t dry out for weeks! Look out we are going to have giant mosquitoes! I hope your lake has receded! gail

  11. Lzyjo said, on May 5, 2009 at 7:23 AM

    Hi Gail, the lake has receded! Thanks for the well wishes. I hope your waterfall didn’t take any plants with it! Now we can look forward to a glimpse of sun for today’s forecast!

  12. Gururaj said, on May 5, 2009 at 5:00 PM

    I’m pretty sure that once the sun comes out, the plants would have nearly doubled in size! I faced a similar kind of situation a few days ago. Cloudy and rains out here in Kisarazu city also!

  13. Lzyjo said, on May 6, 2009 at 7:44 AM

    The rain stopped for yesterday, but it’s back! I think all the weeds will be twice as big also! I hope your garden dries out as well.


Leave a Reply

