Worms and Flowers

Bugalicious!! Another Crazy Papier Mache Project

Posted in How To by Lzyjo on May 2, 2009

Yesterday I was hoping to share some photos of my garden, the first in a weekly series, but it rained all day. Instead of going outside, I started a rainy day project. My most hated pests inspired by recent comments on garden pestilence and by another hobby of mine, origami, which I never have an excuse to mention on this blog. Bugs and origami have nothing to do with one another except for Robert Lang. I am a huge fan of Robert Lang, one of the premier origami artists, specializing in extremely realistic, animals, insects, mammals, and sea creatures. Do check out his galley. Mind-blowing!

Anyway, this is what I came up with. Four Godzilla style bugs of freakish proportions!
Photobucket

Here are the rough sketches I made after looking at various photos of these bugs. Left to right. Squash vine borer, EEEEWW! Boll Weevil, AAAAAAAH!!!, Colorado Potato beetle, Bleug!!! and Squash vine borer, Blech!!!

Photobucket

While raiding the burn box for newspaper and cardboard I found two of these perfectly bug-shaped cardboard thingy doodles! How lucky!!

Photobucket

I started by cutting out cardboard forms shaped like the general “footprint” or outline of the body. Above is the squash bug armor.

Photobucket

Colorado potato beetle. One big ball of newspaper with two smaller protrusions for the head. Simple!

Photobucket

The boll weevil. This one may be my favorite so far. Not sure about these legs, so I slept on it and will try some reinforcements today.

Photobucket

Squash vine borer without wings. I love the shingled body!! It went together quite easily with lightweight cereal box cardboard from caramel popcorn.

Photobucket

And with wings. Can you tell I am having fun?!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daphne Gould said, on May 2, 2009 at 1:04 PM

    Aaarrrrgggg! I thought I was safe from these until later in the summer. Now why would you willingly invite them into your house ;>

  2. Lzyjo said, on May 2, 2009 at 1:35 PM

    It’s my own form of confrontive therapy. Now, I just hope these ginormous bugs don’t come to life!

  3. Daphne Gould said, on May 2, 2009 at 2:17 PM

    I could just imagine a huge squash bug come to life. A very scary thought.

  4. Lzyjo said, on May 2, 2009 at 2:29 PM

    Sounds like the beginning to MANY nightmares.

  5. Gail said, on May 2, 2009 at 9:14 PM

    Lzyjo, I remember the fantastic dog creature you made! This one is going to be good, too! Great sketches. Love that “confrontive therapy” sounds so much better then squish therapy. gail

  6. Lzyjo said, on May 3, 2009 at 8:09 AM

    Thank you, Gail, that is exactly what DH said! I AM going to overcome my fear of squishy squirmys.
    I would love to meet you sometime at the Franklin Farmer’s Market, but I don’t’ drive so it makes things a little difficult for me. Maybe fortune will be with us and we’ll bump into each other there.

  7. tina said, on July 9, 2009 at 9:48 PM

    They turned out really well.

    Thanks, Tina, It’s just fun. Creepy fun. Things usually turn out good when you don’t have any expectations! I had nothing to lose.


Leave a Reply

