Worms and Flowers

It Turned into a Tulip

Posted in Flowers by Lzyjo on April 13, 2009

Finally! After the longest wait it turned into a tulip. It was magical. A colorful flower exploded from an inconspicuous green bud.

Photobucket

Triumph Tulip Happy Generation

Ahhhh!

Photobucket

Triumph Tulip Happy Generation

Just a reminder. Learn from my mistakes and keep bulb packaging, or better yet, write down the cultivar you planted in a hardcopy garden journal. Since I tossed out the packaging, I will never know what cultivar these tulips are. I think they are one of the Triumph hybrids, but that hardly narrows it down.

I don’t suppose anyone else bought the same ones from Lowe’s?

ETA: Great news! I have found out which cultivar I have. I searched Dave’s Garden PlantFiles again this time filling in the drop down menu to show only entries with photos and viola! At first I thought it could be Las Flame, a Rembrandt tulip, whcih looked really close, but I thought I would have remembered the name. Then I saw it, Happy Generation, I definitely remeberd that name. So here it is, Happy Generation, a newer varigated Triumph tulip.

Tagged with:

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Patrick said, on April 13, 2009 at 3:52 PM

    That’s a pretty tulip. I don’t know the variety name, but it’s not common, that’s for sure.

  2. Gail said, on April 13, 2009 at 9:38 PM

    I do have a similar looking one or two! But don’t know the name…Then I jumped down the rabbit hole and started researching tulips…There are a few beauties out there! Have a good week in your garden! gail

  3. lzyjo said, on April 14, 2009 at 8:15 AM

    Hi Patrick, Thanks for stopping by. I looked through a ton of tulips on DavesGarden and never found anything, that must be why. Thanks for the advice.

  4. lzyjo said, on April 14, 2009 at 10:05 AM

    That’s is quite a rabbit hole, Gail. Which usually ends with buying tulips to get out.
    I’m am so inspired by your species tulips. I definitely what to give them a try.

  5. artistsgarden said, on April 15, 2009 at 7:18 PM

    This is fab – it is so “in your face” and tulippy
    (umm – that’s not a proper word is it?)

  6. lzyjo said, on April 16, 2009 at 8:26 AM

    Yes they are very tulippy. I love the shape of the flowers, they are very voluptuous and cup-like. Thanks for your comments.


Leave a Reply

