Worms and Flowers

The Great Sunflower Project

Posted in Great Sunflower Project by Lzyjo on April 10, 2009

I received my free Lemon Queen Sunflowers seeds exactly two weeks and five days after I signed up to participate in the Great Sunflower Project. (GSP)

The seeds are from Renee’s Garden, but they are in specially printed envelops for the the GSP.

In my first post about the GSP, I was under the impression that the data collection days were set, but this is not the case, you can do it on day at any time, preferably twice per month during the blooming season.

There’s a thunder storm today, so I won’t be planting them yet, but hopefully this weekend.

There’s still time to get your free seeds. If you want to participate, visit their website to sign-up.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Darla said, on April 10, 2009 at 12:00 PM

    Thank you! I just signed up!

  2. lzyjo said, on April 10, 2009 at 12:32 PM

    Great! I’m so glad I could help.

  3. Daphne Gould said, on April 10, 2009 at 12:38 PM

    I signed up last year and never got the seeds. I requested seed this year at the beginning of March. Still no seed. :< I wish I knew whether to just go out and buy them right now. I hate having seed that doesn’t get planted, but in a couple of weeks I just might have to.

  4. ourfriendben said, on April 10, 2009 at 12:42 PM

    Cool! Can’t wait for the progress reports!

  5. lzyjo said, on April 10, 2009 at 1:23 PM

    Hmmmm…..What a bummer. Sounds like you should have received them by now. Maybe you could try signing up using an alternate email, or information. It might just be a good excuse to buy some seeds from Renee’s Garden!

  6. lzyjo said, on April 10, 2009 at 1:24 PM

    Yes! I will be sure to post updates! I’m curious to see what happens.

  7. Jake said, on April 10, 2009 at 6:15 PM

    I haven’t heard of this before, maybe next year. I already bought my Sunflower seeds and put them in the ground last Saturday and I noticed today they are already coming up.

    Jake

  8. lzyjo said, on April 10, 2009 at 9:10 PM

    I planted some of another type of sunflower too. I was surprised how fast they came up too, even in the cold! So far they have incredibly survived temperatures in the 30s.

  9. Gail said, on April 11, 2009 at 7:40 AM

    Izyjo,

    I have never tried to grow sunflower seeds…thinking my two punch combo of clay soil and hard to find spots of sun would bee the kiss of death! But the GSP had folks grow them in containers..whoopee! Thanks for the encouragement. Where the storms bad? They passed over quickly but left rain and a bit of hail here. Hope the rest of your weekend is great gardening time. gail

  10. lzyjo said, on April 11, 2009 at 7:59 AM

    Thank you for the well wishes, Gail. That’s great that you can try them in pots! I had a hard time last year. I didn’t really know how much SUN sunflowers needed. LOL

  11. Gail said, on April 11, 2009 at 8:36 AM

    Izyjo, Hi…I’ve been at the site signing on! Did you fill out the additional notes section and add your blog link? It’s hard to see what will be public and what will be private;-) Please feel free to email me at gailtilesatgmaildotcom thanks, gail


Leave a Reply

