Worms and Flowers

Potatoes and Peas

Posted in Garden, Vegetables by Lzyjo on March 30, 2009

This year I am two to three months ahead of where I was last year. Potatoes and Peas are the first things up this season. We planted the potatoes over several weeks, beginning February 10. The peas were planted in January after the 15th, according to dates suggested by the 2008 Farmer’s Almanac.

Photobucket

We have purple-podded Capucijner blauschokkers. A starchy pea that makes delicious soup after the starches convert to sugars during the boiling process. We are also growing Dwarf Grey Sugar Pea. Both are about three to four inches tall right now.

Photobucket

Sunflowers, planted a few weeks ago, are already up.

Photobucket

And Finally Potatoes! After one total crop failure I am extremely nervous waiting for potatoes to emerge. Just as I am ready to dig them up to see what’s going on, they pop out of the ground. I’ve already had a few failures. I had lettuce, cauliflower and cabbage ready to be transplanted when they just shriveled up and died. They already had numerous pairs of leaves. I’m not sure what happened. It was after a cold snap though, maybe they froze (?) They were yellow and shriveled.

Tagged with: , , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ourfriendben said, on March 30, 2009 at 8:20 AM

    Wow, lzyjo! I’m a native Nashvillian and can’t imagine planting potatoes in January! Where in Tennessee do you live?!!

  2. lzyjo said, on March 30, 2009 at 8:33 AM

    My bad! My record keeping clearly sucks. They were actually planted during the month of February. Whoops! I think they were ordered through the mail in Jan. I used a chart from last year’s Farmer Almanac that has all of the vegetables listed with their planting dates for the lower 48. According to that, the potatoes were planted between 2/10 and the end of the month. We are in the south of Williamson county, about 45 minutes from downtown.

  3. lzyjo said, on March 30, 2009 at 9:14 AM

    I feel like Maxwell Smart, “Would you believe January? How about February?”

    Gee, if I manage to garble my own data lord knows what I do to the real facts!

  4. Katarina said, on March 30, 2009 at 11:36 AM

    I’m amazed that your peas and potatoes are already that big! It is early, isn’t it? I mean, even for you? -I et you’ll get big crops!
    Katarina

  5. lzyjo said, on March 30, 2009 at 11:47 AM

    I guess I am pushing the limits! But I did use the dates suggested by the “farmer’s almanac,” which is the gardener’s bible here. Maybe, subconsciously I am trying to make up for time I lost last year. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Catherine said, on March 30, 2009 at 11:53 AM

    How lucky to have your peas up that far. Ours had to be replanted because the first crop never grew. We plant peas fairly early out in the Seattle area. Good luck!

  7. lzyjo said, on March 30, 2009 at 12:08 PM

    I thought the peas were never going to come up, but they finally did after a nice spring rain. Thanks for stopping by.

  8. Jen said, on March 30, 2009 at 1:05 PM

    Wow – how cool that you’ve already got sunflowers! I didn’t plan for potatoes this year and am kinda regretting it.

    That’s a mouthful of a name for a pea. I’m not even gonna attempt to write it. We’ll have to call it purple podded CBs for short.

  9. Darla said, on March 30, 2009 at 2:50 PM

    Veggie gardening is tricky stuff for me. I rely on my husband.

  10. lzyjo said, on March 31, 2009 at 7:28 AM

    I was surprised how fast they came up. I still have not decided if it’s cost effective or not to grow potatoes. It certainly is not when one can by 10 pounds of potatoes for $3-$5. I think is it a Dutch name, but I’m all for calling them CBs. LOL!

  11. lzyjo said, on March 31, 2009 at 7:28 AM

    Yes, it is nice to have help from someone of the manly persuasion. I couldn’t do it without DH.

  12. mlc said, on April 2, 2009 at 9:01 AM

    I planted potatoes here in Ohio with the help of my home on break college son who puts up with my stone age endeavors with pretty good patience 2 weeks ago. Wanted to plant peas then, but spent too much time on the potatoes. Then it got cold and wet. Your peas look great. Maybe I will get some of mine out this pm. My lettuce and cabbage plants have survived a couple of freezes since then.
    This is the first potato patch in quite a while. As some of your other readers said, it didn’t seem worth the effort. But now…I think it is. If… for no other reason then those first new potatoes. Yum.

  13. lzyjo said, on April 2, 2009 at 10:16 AM

    It’s nice to have help in the garden, isn’t it. I think you are right, growing potatoes is worth it for the new potatoes alone. There is no comparison.


Leave a Reply

