Worms and Flowers

Impatiently Waiting

Posted in Flowers by Lzyjo on March 29, 2009

Spring has been in the air for a few weeks now and it’s even Spring by the calendar, but still I’m waiting for my tulips and daffodils. I only planted them last autumn, so I’m clearly expecting too much, but I’m not good at being patient, especially when there are buds tantalizingly close to popping open.

Photobucket

Redbud flowers

Photobucket

Thalia Daffodil. Similar to paperwhites, Narcissus papyraceus. Purportedly good for Southern regions.

Photobucket

Unknown tulip. I should have saved the tag that came with the bulbs, because now I have no know of finding out what cultivar they are. I think they are pink and white of some kind.

Photobucket

After the spring storm stopped and the sun came out, the first daffodil opened.

Photobucket

They even look beautiful from the back when I go down the front steps to get the mail.

I was hoping to post some photos on Friday, but my camera ran out of batteries as I was taking pictures. I kept putting in batteries that I thought were charged, but were empty, so I scared myself into thinking the camera was broken. Thank god it was just the batteries! I’m so glad it’s working again!

Tagged with: , ,

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. keewee said, on March 29, 2009 at 9:13 AM

    lovely pictures. My daffodils are blooming, and yesterday I noticed the buds on the plum trees are swelling.

  2. ourfriendben said, on March 29, 2009 at 9:19 AM

    Wow! So beautiful, and more to come, lzyjo! My brother gifeted us with a bunch of new bulbs last year, and I can see them all coming up under our trees. I can’t wait to see them in bloom and our redbuds in flower!

  3. Gail said, on March 29, 2009 at 9:42 AM

    Izyjo…I love the redbud photo! Aren’t they wonderful trees! They look good against a blue sky, but even the deep gray clouds make them pop! Btw, did you escape the storm damages? It is feeling very chilly and if the daffs and other plants weren’t up and blooming it would be a very february day! gail

  4. lzyjo said, on March 29, 2009 at 9:55 AM

    DH bought me several kinds last fall for our anniversary. It’s so exciting and sweet to see them coming up. They certainly are a gift that “keeps on giving.” I love the redbuds! It means full blown spring!

  5. lzyjo said, on March 29, 2009 at 10:00 AM

    Hi Gail,
    I’m so glad you got your camera back! I thought I was going to have to send my in for servicing! I love there habit it’s so graceful, when in bloom or just with leaves. The weather was terrible last night! We had a tornado warning, I’m sure you did too. The power flickered off a few times, luckily we didn’t get much, even though there were confirmed twisters near us. The weather was so bipolar all day, one minute gray and blowing, the next clear blue sky. I saw it was worse near Nashville. Hope you didn’t have any damage.

  6. lzyjo said, on March 29, 2009 at 10:07 AM

    Hi Keewee, thank you. Isn’t it lovely watching the world explode into spring!

  7. Vickie said, on March 29, 2009 at 10:41 AM

    I love your white daff

  8. Gail said, on March 29, 2009 at 11:29 AM

    Izyjo, We are fine…It was an astonishing display of strange weather…The view from every window/door was different~~rain out one, sunny sky and a rainbow out the back, black clouds coming in from the southwest and hail on and off! From 70 to the thirties! So glad you are fine…and your camera, too! I’ve done that with the batteries, too! Thank goodness for a sense of humor, yes! gail

  9. lzyjo said, on March 29, 2009 at 12:38 PM

    Hi Vickie,
    Thanks, I love them too, they are do delicate and graceful looking. Thanks for stopping by.

  10. lzyjo said, on March 29, 2009 at 12:41 PM

    Yes, a sense of humor makes everything better. Sorry to hear you got hail, hope if didn’t damage any plants. I was looking out the window seeing blue sky and DH was looking out the same window seeing black storm clouds!

  11. fairegarden said, on March 29, 2009 at 6:49 PM

    Hi Izyjo, thank goodness it was the batteries, I would have gone to panic mode too. Your photos are exquisite. The redbud close up especially is wonderful. Your bulbs will give you so much pleasure. They are usually a couple of weeks later the first spring after planting but will be earlier in coming years. Happy spring!
    Frances

  12. lzyjo said, on March 30, 2009 at 7:45 AM

    Happy Spring to you too Frances! I absolutely adore the bulbs, it’s so fun to watch them pop up and bloom. Thanks for the compliments on my photos.

  13. artistsgarden said, on March 30, 2009 at 5:24 PM

    Lovely redbud photo – but I do like your pale daffodils
    K

  14. lzyjo said, on March 31, 2009 at 7:30 AM

    Thank you, Karen. I love the daffs too. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

