Worms and Flowers

The Lilies are Up!

Posted in Lillies by Lzyjo on March 28, 2009

Last fall I transplanted lily seedlings that I grew myself, from pots into the ground. I am happy to report that all three species lilies I planted have reemerged this spring! On right is the Formosa lily, a hardy road-side lily that can flower in 18 months from seed, in ideal conditions. The Formosa lily kept its leaves all winter long, although they didn’t look very nice. The others died back completely. Again I had problem with my Sharpie plant tags fading in the sun. So I am unsure which are which. Anyway I was worried that the one in the middle wasn’t doing to come up, but sure enough it did. It just needed some warmer weather.

Some lilies can take up to eight years to reach flowering age, so do check before you unknowingly embark on a decade-long quest for lily flowers.

Photobucket

An Asiatic I planted last spring has already come up and is looking vigorous. I planted two, ( it was a great deal like $4 per pot, from the nursery at the end of my road. EEEK!) but only one survived. I think the other was eaten by the moles. Does anyone else have a problem with Asiatic bulbs being eaten?

Photobucket

This is my first experience growing lilies, so I am not sure, but I think these might be inflos? Does anyone know?

Tagged with:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. flowergardengirl said, on March 28, 2009 at 10:42 AM

    Isn’t it grand! Feels like everything is going to be healthy and pretty this year. We’ve finally gotten some much needed rain.

  2. lzyjo said, on March 28, 2009 at 10:51 AM

    Everything just turned green over night! All the plants look so happy. I love spring! Thanks for stopping by.

  3. ourfriendben said, on March 28, 2009 at 12:19 PM

    Your lilies look great, lzyjo! And don’t worry about the one that didn’t come up. As soon as the survivor starts putting out bulbils, you’ll have more lilies than you know what to do with! Mine don’t actually flower until they’re tall, for what that’s worth, but what a healthy stand!

  4. lzyjo said, on March 28, 2009 at 1:07 PM

    Thanks for the advice. I’ll see what happens.


Leave a Reply

