Worms and Flowers

Free Seeds To Save The Bees!

Posted in Garden by Lzyjo on March 21, 2009

It’s official! I have signed up to participate in The Great Sunflower Project and I should be receiving my free Lemon Queen Sunflower seeds shorty. So here’s the deal, the project, which is sponsored by San Francisco State University, mails out free seeds to participants in order to gather data on bee populations. First, you fill out a short survey on the conditions of your garden habitat, e.g., suburban/urban, or lawn/overgrown fields.  Every two weeks during the summer participants go out on a set day to collect data. It’s simple, just sit out in your garden, watching one sunflower plant and monitoring how long it takes for five bees to visit the flowers, maximum time 30 minutes. There are really simple instructions on their website and it is an easy, fun way to help on a large scale.

If you live outside the U.S. and still want to participate, you can, but you have to purchase your own Lemon Queen Sunflower seeds in your country.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ourfriendben said, on March 22, 2009 at 8:22 AM

    What a great, inspiring project, lzyjo. Thanks for telling us about it! Monitoring all bee populations is really important if we want to continue to eat!

  2. lzyjo said, on March 22, 2009 at 8:27 AM

    Yes! I wanted to participate last year, but I found out too late. Anything I can do to help the bee I will do.I’ve learned a lot about bee from the website already.

  3. Eric Bronson said, on March 22, 2009 at 10:04 AM

    That is a great idea! I don’t have a shortage of bees in my yard(I have lots of attractors). But, I have heard a lot a of other gardeners talk about not seeing many bees anymore. I hope this helps with the research.

  4. lzyjo said, on March 22, 2009 at 10:17 AM

    I don’t really have a shortage either, but I like to do what I can and it’s only a half and hour of my time. In Nashville proper there was definitely a problem, I never saw butterflies and hardly any bees ever. They also sprayed all the time for west nile virus. Happy Spring!


Leave a Reply

