Worms and Flowers

Year One In Bonsai

Posted in Bonsai, Plumeria by Lzyjo on December 25, 2008

First off, my Miami Rose Plumeria has been blooming great!

Miami Rose plumeria

Last July, I ordered my first Bonsai starter plants from Puerto Rico, Neea Buxifolia, Singapore Holly, and Delonix Regia. I Killed the first two over the Winter, but somehow the Delonix managed to survive.

Photobucket

After being interested in Bonsai for one full year, this is all I have to show. Bonsai is a slow hobby, but I have made it even slower by attempting to grow them from seed. Above are my Japanese Maple seedlings, (that finally sprouted after more than 5 months in the fridge) Mahaleb Cherry, Baobab, Prunus Subhirtella Pendula, Prunus Triloba, and Jacaranda.

delonix regia, bonsai, flamboyant tree

I am very impatient and I couldn’t bear to see my Delonix in a 2L Coke bottle until Spring, so I replanted it into a Bonsai post at this unseasonable time of year. It’s been about a week since the transplant and everything seems to be looking good. It’s been a long time, but I now feel like I have reached my first milestone in the hobby of Bonsai.

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jason said, on December 25, 2008 at 4:47 PM

    Great going! I’m about 9 months in… keep up the good work!

  2. lzyjo said, on December 27, 2008 at 8:42 AM

    Wow, It looks like you’ve made a lot of progress in nine months, I’d be happy if I achieved that much in ten years!

  3. Jason said, on December 27, 2008 at 9:37 AM

    I haven’t done any from seed, that’s why! I also took some beginning classes and they provided a tree with each set of classes.

  4. nadiaqh said, on September 26, 2009 at 1:41 PM

    hey i have been growing this same tree from seed for about a year now and i was wondering if your plant has the same problem as mine. Everytime a new branch grows the oldest branch loses its leaves and dies. its in a pot about 1/2 wider than yours and i was thinking maybe i need a bigger pot for it

    I find it’s normal for the oldest leaves to die as the new growth comes in. As long as there is new growth and the tip looks healthy it’s okay. Shedding leaves is just a normal process of growth. Hope this helps. Mine has lost almost all of it’s leaves right now.


Leave a Reply

