Worms and Flowers

Reflections on the Past Year

Posted in Garden by Lzyjo on December 24, 2008

Without further ado, from the depths of my hard drive are photos from last year’s garden. I was really surprised when I saw the photos for the first time in more than a year. The garden looked much better than I remembered. Mostly, what I remember from last year was total failure and heartbreak. It started when I decided to dig up the backyard. It only took three or four days of backbreaking work to dig the 10’x10′ plot, but it took weeks to physically recover. Everything was going good, great in fact.

Photobucket

Then I noticed the big green tomatoes were disappearing. I didn’t believe it at first, but it seemed like there were fewer and fewer tomatoes on the plants. Then we confirmed it. We set up a webcam looking out on the garden from the kitchen window. Less than 10 minutes later, the tomatoes plants started violently shaking as squirrels scrambled up plants and stakes, just as if they were climbing a tree. That’s really when it started going down hill. I think we managed to pick one green tomato that took about a month to ripen at room temperature. It was so disappointing, after all the work, to find the green tomatoes all over the ground with one squirrel bite taken out. I totally gave up, ending the garden by pulling out the tomato plants in exasperation.

Photobucket

After how bad I felt about the garden last year I am surprised I was willing to submit myself to the fate this year. But I did. When I asked the landlords if I could dig up a small veggie patch this Spring, she said they would plow one up for me with the tractor. I ended up with a garden bigger than my wildest dreams. I could plant as much of anything as I wanted, even watermelons and sprawling plants I has never dreamed of growing. It’s only been a little more than a year, but its been a long hard road, full of learning experiences often through failure.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Eric bronson said, on December 25, 2008 at 8:47 AM

    Hey, it’s snowing on your homepage!!!!! Happy holidays!

  2. ourfriendben said, on December 25, 2008 at 9:03 AM

    Good for you for persevering, lzyjo! Gardening is a tightrope, with hope on one side and disaster on the other, but somehow, that rope just keeps holding us up. I guess hope keeps us afloat, since whenever something goes wrong, it always seems like something else goes right! Good luck with next year’s ventures, and have a very merry Christmas! (And I’m in awe of your snow, btw. i thought only WordPress was savvy enough to do that!)

  3. lzyjo said, on December 27, 2008 at 8:41 AM

    Happy Holidays, Eric.


Leave a Reply

