Worms and Flowers

An Army of Sunflowers

Posted in Garden by Lzyjo on April 4, 2010

The infamous stop-motion animated skeleton scene from Jason and the Argonauts is unfolding in my garden. (You can see the original scene on YouTube Jason and the Argonauts Skeleton Scene.)
Photobucket

Near the end of the story Jason kills the hydra guarding the golden fleece. Meanwhile the evil King Aeetes takes the teeth of the hydra, plants them, says a short prayer to Hecate, and the teeth emerge as an army of seven skeletons in a quite dramatic fashion, not unlike the thick clay crust in my garden.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HappyMouffetard said, on April 4, 2010 at 12:49 PM

    I love this analogy – Ray Harryhausen was a genius. That scen is the best bit of the film – it used to terrify me as a child! I shall view my germinating seeds in a different light now.

    I agree Harryhausen is a genius. I can’t imagine filming a stop-motion animation scene for over four months. Incredible. I’m glad you appreciated the analogy. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. tina said, on April 5, 2010 at 7:50 AM

    That movie clip was like too fun. Now I’ll have to add the movie to my queue and watch the whole thing. I love those old movies. The sunflowers do look like the slaves hatching out.

    LOL! It is a MUST see for sure. A really important moment in movie history and also a classic story. I hope you enjoy it and thanks for stopping by.

  3. ourfriendben said, on April 5, 2010 at 11:42 AM

    Gulp. I always feel that way about my emerging hostas. I love hostas, but those circles of emerging dragon teeth are really scary looking!

    Isn’t it amazing how terrifying plants can look, particularly at emergence. Lilies for example and be a little frightening too. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Gail said, on April 5, 2010 at 5:38 PM

    Wow! I never saw that movie! But I was reminded of Brandon Frasier movie, The Mummy and the skeleton warriors. OFB is right we may never see our emerging seedlings the same~~I do think that my hellebore flower buds have a toothy and ‘feed me seymour’ look to them! gail

    I know what you mean about the Mummy it has that same horreur about it. I agree emerging hellebores are very frightening, almost like the plant in the little shop of horrors. :)

  5. Jen said, on April 7, 2010 at 9:57 PM

    Too funny, Lzyjo !
    I think peony shoots are pretty scary looking too. They look like bloody fingers reaching for the sky!

    LOL! Love the bloody finger analogy. Rhubarb is also quite scary, I think it also has the bloody finger thing going on!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

